Land Acquisition and Planning

Program Open Space

Current Annual Programs for Local Jurisdictions

Allegany County

Anne Arundel County​

Baltimore City

Baltimore County​

Calvert County

Caroline County​

Carroll County​

Cecil County

Charles County​

Dorchester County

​​Frederick County​

Garrett County​

Harford County

Howard County

Kent County

Montgomery County

Prince George's County​​

Queen Anne's County​​​

St. Mary's County​

Somerset County​

Talbot County​

Washington County​

Wicomico County​

​Worcester County​

The Program Open Space law states that by July 1 each year, local jurisdictions participating in Program Open Space:

Shall submit an annual program of proposed acquisition and development projects . . . to the Department of Planning for review and to the Department [of Natural Resources] for approval. . . . Upon review by the Department of Planning and approval by the Department [of Natural Resources] and the Board of Public Works, the allocated funds shall be encumbered. . . . [1][1]

Any program may be revised by the local [jurisdiction], and the revised program, after the Department of Planning reviews and the Department [of Natural Resources] approves it, shall be substituted for the original program in the grant agreement.[2][2]

[1][1] Section 5-905(a)(2)(i) of the Natural Resources Article, Annotated Code of  Maryland.

[2][2] Section 5-905(a)(4).

Learn more about Program Open Space.