​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Waterway Improvement Project

Waterway Improvement Fund Awards $13.5 Million

The Department is providing $13.5 million in Waterway Improvement Fund grants in Fiscal Year 2021 to 43 projects in 17 counties; statewide projects; emergency needs; and improving public boating access facilities, water safety, and navigation.

Photo of marine mammal by Mark Odell

Report Marine Mammal and Sea Turtle Incidents

Marine mammals and sea turtles are making their seasonal return to the Atlantic coast, the Chesapeake Bay, and its tributaries. The department requests people report any distressed or deceased marine mammals or sea turtles 1-800-628-9944.​

Natural Resources police patrolling waters

Operation Dry Water - July 4th Weekend

This weekend, beginning July 3, the Maryland Natural Resources Police will partner with the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and the U.S. Coast Guard in the Operation Dry Water campaign of awareness and enforcement to reduce boating under the influence.

2000 Census - Give a Hoot
Changing Maryland for the better logo
Governor's Office

Elizabeth Lee went crabbing with her parents and is contributing to the crab feast with this catch. Photo by Elizabeth Lee

Fishing Report

Man fising from shoreline, photo by Stephen Badger

Free Fishing Day - July 4th