E-mail Fort Frederick State Park
Fort Frederick State Park
11100 Fort Frederick Road
Big Pool MD 21711
Hours: 8 a.m. to Sunset, April-October
10 a.m. to Sunset, November-March
The centerpiece of the Fort Frederick State Park is a unique stone fort that served as Maryland’s frontier defense during the French and Indian War. Built in 1756, the Fort's stone wall and two barracks have been restored to their 1758 appearance. Historic exhibits are in the Fort, barracks, Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Museum and Visitor Center. The fort barracks are open seven days a week from Memorial Day to Labor Day and on the weekends in the spring and fall, when staff and volunteers dress in period clothing and occupy the fort, demonstrating daily life in the 18th century. The 585-acre park borders the Potomac River and The Chesapeake and Ohio Canal passes through the park. The park also features a boat launch, campsites, camp store, fishing, flat water canoeing, hiking trails, a playground, a picnic area and large pavilion. Group tours are available seasonally.
The stone fort built in 1756 protected Maryland’s frontier settlers during the French and Indian War. The fort saw service during the American Revolution as a prison for British soldiers. During the Civil War, Union troops were often stationed near the fort to guard the C & O Canal.
In 1922, the State of Maryland acquired the fort and in the 1930's, the Civilian Conservation Corps restored the fort walls and began development of the state park. Click here to view photographs of the reconstruction project.
Throughout the year, the park features events and re-enactments that mark Fort Frederick's long and colorful history.
580 Taylor Ave, Annapolis MD 21401