Maryland, the law states that anyone born on or after July 1, 1972,
must possess a certificate of boating safety education in order to
operate any motorized vessel. This certificate is non-renewable and must
be carried by the student at all times while operating a vessel.
Officers may or may not ask to see the certificate during a vessel check
and, if not provided, you can be charged with a minimum of $25 for the
first offense and up to $500 for each offense thereafter.
Boating safety courses are offered all across the State. Prices,
times and locations may vary. Please contact the provider by calling the
number provided. Any further questions can be answered by contacting
the Natural Resources Police Safety Education Section at (410) 643-8502.
of October 1, 2010, anyone under the age of 16, operating a motorized
vessel 11 feet in length or greater WITHOUT a valid boating safety
certificate, must be under the supervision of an individual 18 years of
age or older who possesses a valid boating safety certificate or an
individual born before July 1, 1972. If an individual under the age of
16 is operating a motorized vessel LESS than 11 feet in length, a person
of any age possessing a valid certificate of boating safety can provide
580 Taylor Ave., Annapolis MD 21401
Call toll-free in *Maryland* at 1-877-620-8DNR (8367)
Out of State: 410-260-8DNR (8367)