Land Acquisition and Planning

Real Property Acquisition and Management

The Real Property Acquisition and Management group administers Program Open Space Stateside, the Survey and GIS Team, and Real Property Management.

Laura Sanford, Associate Director Real Property Acquisition and Management
laura.sanford@maryland.gov
410-349-7886 Cell, 410-260-8406 Office

Acquisition

Program Open Space Stateside

Program Open Space Stateside preserves natural areas for public recreation and watershed and wildlife protection across Maryland through the purchase of fee-simple and easement acquisitions. Fee simple purchases are managed by the department as State Parks, Forests, and Wildlife and Fisheries Management Areas.

Jacqueline Sandoval Tahsuda, Program Open Space Stateside Supervisor
jacqueline.tahsuda@maryland.gov
443-775-0548 Cell, 410-260-8441 Office

Central Region and POS Conservation Easements (All Regions): Cheryl Wise
Baltimore City and County, Carroll, Cecil, Harford, Howard, Montgomery
cheryl.wise@maryland.gov
443-569-2839 Cell, 410-260-8410 Office

Eastern Region: Bryan Wieland
Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, Worcester
bryan.wieland@maryland.gov
410-349-7751 Cell, 410-260-8422 Office

Southern Region: Jacqueline Sandoval Tahsuda
Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Prince George’s, St. Mary’s
jacqueline.tahsuda@maryland.gov
443-775-0548 Cell, 410-260-8441 Office

Western Region: John Braskey
Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, Washington
john.braskey@maryland.gov
301-268-0728 Cell, 301-777-2030 Office

Management

Survey and GIS

This team administers the Department of Natural Resources Lands Boundary Inventory, Department of Natural Resources Lands Boundary Protection, and Mapping/GIS/CAD.

Jeffrey G. Bonnerwith, Survey and GIS Supervisor
jeffrey.bonnerwith@maryland.gov
410-980-1587 Cell, (410) 260-8432 Office

Nathan Beeman, Boundary Management West
nathan.beeman@maryland.gov
240-313-8741

George Forlifer, Boundary Management West
george.forlifer@maryland.gov
410-703-9254

Tom Dowd, Boundary Management East
thomase.dowd@maryland.gov
410-703-9253

Rodney D. Vese, Jr., GIS Manager/Mapping Specialist
rodney.vesejr@maryland.gov
443-699-4911 Cell, 410-260-8478 Office

Ashleigh Piccoli, Natural Resource Planner, Mapping
ashleigh.piccoli@maryland.gov​
443-699-6890 Cell, 410-260-8413 Office

Real Property Management

This team administers landlord leases, curatorships and use agreements for the Department of Natural Resources.

Peter Morrill, Curator Program Manager
peter.morrill1@maryland.gov
443-433-6310 Cell, 410-260-8457 Office

Terry Croson, Land and Property Management Administrator
terry.croson@maryland.gov
410-980-7108 Cell, (410) 260-8433 Office

Hope Butler, Administrative Services Specialist
hope.butler@maryland.gov
(410) 260-8446 Office

​​​​