... or information about the Critical Area Program or questions relating to State oversight of local programs, e-mail us or call 410-260-3460

 CAC logo

Critical Area Commission
1804 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401



Maryland Critical Area Commission Contacts


  • If you have general questions about the Critical Area Law and Criteria click here.
  • For policy, regulatory or mapping issues click here.
  • For issues related to the Buffer, other Habitat Protection Areas, or conservation and mitigation practices click here.

For more specific questions, please select from the list of counties in order to direct you to the appropriate staff person

Map of Maryland counties.

Kate Charbonneau
Executive Director

General Questions on the Critical Area Law and Criteria
Phone: 410-260-3475

Back t​o Top

Lisa Hoerger
Regulations and Mapping Coordinator

Coordinates among the Commission, State government, local governments and various stakeholders pertaining to the regulations and policies of the Commission. Also coordinates the remapping of the 1,000-foot Critical Area boundary.


  • Federal Projects

  • ​Aberdeen
  • Havre de Grace

Phone: 410-260-3478

Back t​o Top

Claudia Jones
Science Advisor

Program and policy issues regarding Habitat Protection Areas, wetlands streams and concerns relating to habitat protection and water quality. Specific questions about conservation, protective easements, and mitigation.

Phone: 410-260-3482

Back t​o Top

Nick Kelly
Regional Program Chief

General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, shore erosion control, etc.

Phone: 410-260-3483

Back t​o Top

​ ​

Charlotte Shearin
Regional Program Chief

General project and program questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.

Phone: 410-260-3480

Back t​o Top

Jon Coplin
Natural Resources Planner


  • Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum
  • State Highway Administration

  • Baltimore County

  • Dorchester County Towns:
  • Cambridge
  • Secretary
  • Vienna

  • Cecil County Towns:
  • ​Elkton
  • North East
  • Perryville
  • Port Deposit
  • Charlestown
  • Chesapeake City

  • Prince George’s County

Phone: 410-260-3481

Back t​o Top

Kate Durant
Natural Resources Planner


  • Maryland Transportation Authority

  • Annapolis

  • Baltimore City

  • Somerset County
  • Crisfield
  • Princess Anne​​​

  • Worcester County
  • Snow Hill
  • Pocom​oke City

  • ​​ Ocean City

Phone: 410-260-3477

Back t​o Top

Jennifer Esposito
Natural Resources Planner


  • Department of the Environment
  • Maryland Port Administration

  • Anne Arundel County

  • Calvert County
  • ​Chesapeake Beach
  • North Beach

  • Dorchester County

Phone: 410-260-3468

Back t​o Top

Katie Hayden
Natural Resources Planner


  • Harford County

  • Kent County
  • Chestertown
  • Betterton
  • Millington
  • Rock Hall

  • St. Mary’s County Town
  • Leonardtown

  • Caroline County Towns
  • Denton
  • Hillsboro
  • Federalsburg
  • Greensboro​

Phone: 410-260-3479

Back t​o Top

Susan Makhlouf
Natural Resources Planner


  • Historic St. Mary’s City
  • St. Mary’s College
  • Maryland Aviation Administration
  • Department of Natural Resources

  • Cecil County

  • Queen Anne’s County
  • Centreville
  • Church Hill
  • Queen Anne
  • Queenstown

  • Wicomico County
  • Salisbury
  • Fruitland
  • Mardela Springs
  • Sharptown

Phone: 410-260-3476

Back t​o Top

Annie Sekerak
Natural Resources Planner


  • Maryland Port Administration
  • Maryland Transit Administration
  • Power Plant Research Program (DNR)
  • Public Service Commission

  • ​​ Caroline County

  • Charles County
  • Indian Head

  • Talbot County
  • Easton
  • ​Oxford
  • St. Michaels

  • St. Mary's County

Phone: 410-260-3466​

Back t​o Top