2020 Legislative Session

Departmental Bills Passed into Law

Here are the summaries of our passed departmental bills during the 2020 legislative session.

House Bill 173 (Natural Resources - Sunday Hunting) generally reorganizes and clarifies statutory provisions related to Sunday hunting in the State. Sunday hunt opportunities provided under current law are neither expanded or reduced by the legislation. By nature of the reorganization, the bill also explicitly states that a person may not hunt on public lands within the State park system on Sunday, which is consistent with current practice. The bill takes effect June 1, 2020.

Senate Bill 114​ (Natural Resources - Nuisance Organisms - Pilot Projects and Northern Snakeheads) authorizes the department to adopt regulations to conduct pilot projects to demonstrate and evaluate new approaches for the management and control of nuisance organisms and modifies the existing “commercial northern snakehead bowfishing license” by authorizing hook and line in addition to bowfishing for the license holder to catch northern snakeheads for sale. The bill takes effect October 1, 2020.

To read individual bills, fiscal notes and to obtain complete information about hearings and voting sessions, please visit the Maryland General Assembly website.

Contact Information

James McKitrick
Director, Legislative and Constituent Services

Lisa Eutsler
Coordinator, Legislative and Regulations