Land Acquisition and Planning

Grants, Easements and Stewardship

The Grants, Easements, and Stewardship group administers the Rural Legacy Program, the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP) permanent easement option, conservation easement monitoring for each of these programs, Program Open Space Local, the Community Parks and Playgrounds Program, Federal Grants and Stewardship.

Stacy Schaefer, Associate Director Land Conservation
stacy.schaefer@maryland.gov
410-260-8431​

Rural Legacy and CREP Permanent Easement Programs

Tom McCarthy, Conservation Easement Supervisor
tom.mccarthy@maryland.gov
410-260-8429

CREP Permanent Easements Administrators

Shawn Clotworthy
Washington County, Harford County, Somerset County and Worcester County
shawn.clotworthy@maryland.gov
410-260-8421

Katrina Tucker
Queen Anne’s County, Caroline County, Dorchester County, Wicomico County
katrinal.tucker@maryland.gov
410-260-8408

Tom McCarthy
Frederick County
tom.mccarthy@maryland.gov
410-260-8429

Rural Legacy Area Administrators by Rural Legacy Area (RLA)

Katrina Tucker
Agricultural Security Corridor RLA; Anne Arundel South RLA; Manor RLA; Nanticoke RLA; Harriet Tubman RLA; Quantico Creek RLA; Dividing Creek RLA; Coastal Bays RLA; Lands End RLA; Foreman Branch RLA.
katrinal.tucker@maryland.gov
410-260-8408

Shawn Clotworthy
Bear Creek RLA; Huntersville RLA; Patuxent Prince Georges RLA; North Calvert RLA; Calvert Creeks RLAs; Fair Hill RLA; Mid-Maryland Washington RLA; Little Pipe Creek RLA; Upper Patapsco RLA; Deer Creek RLA; Piney Run RLA; Long Green Valley RLA; Gunpowder RLA; Baltimore County Coastal RLA; Mountain Ridge RLA and Easement Monitoring Administrator.
shawn.clotworthy@maryland.gov
410-260-8421

Tom McCarthy
Mattapany RLA; Mid-Maryland Frederick RLA; Carrollton Manor RLA; Mid-Maryland Montgomery RLA, Upper Patuxent River Reservoir Watershed (Montgomery Co.) RLA, Upper Patuxent River (Howard Co.) RLA; Zekiah Run RLA.
tom.mccarthy@maryland.gov
410-260-8429

Program Open Space Local, Community Parks and Playgrounds, and Stewardship

Carrie Lhotsky, Grants and Stewardship Manager
carrie.lhotsky@maryland.gov
410-260-8409

Ashaki Binta, Administrative Officer
ashaki.binta@maryland.gov
410-260-8451

John Braskey
Allegany and Garrett Counties
john.braskey@maryland.gov
301-777-2030

Margaret Lashar
Anne Arundel, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Frederick, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, St. Mary's, and Washington Counties, and Baltimore City
margaret.lashar@maryland.gov
410-260-8427

Carrie Lhotsky
Baltimore, Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties
carrie.lhotsky@maryland.gov
410-260-8409

Andrew Mengel, Stewardship Team and Federal Grants
andrew.mengel@maryland.gov
410-260-8461