Deer Damage

Deer Management Permit

Maryland landowners or agricultural lessees that are experiencing severe economic loss from deer to commercially grown crops (includes row crops, truck crops, pasture, nursery stock, orchards and certain tree plantings) may be eligible to receive a Deer Management Permit (DMP). DMP’s allow the permittee to remove deer from the designated property outside the established deer hunting seasons and/or deer bag limits. These permits are issued by the Wildlife and Heritage Service.

The staff person assigned to review your request for eligibility will consider the type, extent and severity of damage; time of year; and deer population levels for your locale when determining if a DMP is an appropriate solution for your property.

For more information, please contact the staff person who serves your County.

Kent, Queen Anne's, Caroline & Talbot Counties:
Rick Walls
richard.walls@maryland.gov
P.O. Box 52
Massey, Maryland 21650
(410) 928-3650 (O)


Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset & Worcester Counties:
Wade Bradford
wade.bradford@maryland.gov
32733 Dublin Road
Princess Anne, MD 21853
(410) 651-2066 (O)


Anne Arundel, Prince George’s, Calvert, Charles, St Marys:
Jane Burgess
jane.burgess@maryland.gov
580 Taylor Ave., E-1
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
(410) 260-8559 (O)


Baltimore, Harford and Cecil:
Matt Adams
matthew.adams1@maryland.gov
2 S. Bond St.
Bel Air, MD 21014
(410) 836-4559 (O)


Carroll, Howard & Montgomery:
Samantha Hopkins
samantha.hopkins@maryland.gov
11960 Clopper Rd.
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
(301) 258-7308 (O)


Garrett:
Rob Harvey
rob.harvey@maryland.gov
1728 Kings Run Rd
Oakland, MD 21550
(301) 334-4255 (O)


Allegany:
Clarissa Harris
clarissa.harris1@maryland.gov
12512 Pleasant Valley Rd.
Flintstone, MD 21530
(301) 777-2136 (O)


Washington:
Tanner Brown
tanner.brown@maryland.gov
14038 Blairs Valley Rd
Clear Spring Md 21722
(301) 842-2702 (O)


Frederick:
Jeff McAfee
jeff.mcafee@maryland.gov​
14038 Blairs Valley Rd
Clear Spring Md 21722
(301) 842-2702 (O)