Chesapeake Forests

Contact: 410-632-3732

Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties

6572 Snow Hill Road
Snow Hill, MD 21863

Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

The Chesapeake Forest currently consists of 75,376 acres divided into 187 Management Units (Complexes) distributed across six counties. In spite of this scattered character, the forests include some of the last large segments of unbroken forest in a region that is largely agricultural in nature. Chesapeake Forest Lands include more than 6,000 acres of wetlands and comprise portions of 23 separate watersheds, many of which have been given a high priority for conservation action under the Maryland Clean Water Action Plan. They contain established populations of threatened and endangered species, including the Delmarva fox squirrel (Sciurus niger cinereus), bald eagle, and some 150 other species that have been identified as rare, threatened, or endangered in the region. Abundant populations of deer, turkey and waterfowl create the basis for extensive hunting opportunities and other recreational activities on the land. Chesapeake Forest Lands are also dual-certified for sustainable forest management.

Included in the management of the Chesapeake Forest are the Fred W. Besley Demonstration Forest in Dorchester County, the Seth Demonstration Forest in Talbot County, and the Wicomico Demonstration Forest in Wicomico County.

Notice(s): 2023-2024 Chesapeake Forest Lands Leased Hunting Tract Lottery Information

Chesapeake Forest Lands Climate Change Adaptation and Resilience Planning Guide