Backyard Buffer Program Contacts

Backyard Buffer packet reservations are typically taken during the month of March, with bags available for pickup at a designated local site in time for the spring planting season. A limited number of bags are available each year on a first-come first-served basis.

For more information on riparian forest buffers, visit
https://dnr.maryland.gov/forests/Pages/publications/buffers.aspx

​ ​

Backyard Buffer coordinator contact information by county

Please contact your county coordinator to sign up or for more information. Quantities are limited so reservations will be taken on a first-come, first-served basis.

Allegany County​
Adam Miller
301-777-5590
adam.miller@maryland.gov


Anne Arundel County
Brady Waters​, Anne Arundel County Watershed Stewards Academy
301-458-6537
brady@aawsa.org
http://aawsa.org/backyard-buffers


Baltimore County
Rob Prenger
410-665-5820
rob.prenger@maryland.gov


Calvert County
UMD Extension Service
410-535-3662
calvertmg@umd.edu


Carroll County
Jamie Weaver
410-848-9290
jamie.weaver@maryland.gov


Caroline County
Scott Daniels
410 228 1861
scott.daniels@maryland.gov


Cecil County
Emilio Concari
410-287-5777​
emilio.concari@maryland.gov
Click here to sign up for trees​


Charles County
Kaitlyn Baligush, UMD Extension
kbaligus@umd.edu
Click here to register.


Dorchester County
Scott Daniels
410-228-1861
scott.daniels@maryland.gov


Frederick County
Sean Weaver
301-791-4010
sean.weaver@maryland.gov


Garrett County
Melissa Nash
301-334-3296
melissa.nash@maryland.gov


Harford County
Emilio Concari
410-287-5777​
emilio.concari@maryland.gov


Howard County
Chris Barger
301-854-6060
christopher.barger@maryland.gov


Kent County
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu


Montgomery County
Chris Barger​
301-854-6060
christopher.barger@maryland.gov


Prince George’s County (Anacostia Watershed Only)
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Anacostia@mwcog.org


Queen Anne’s County
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu


St. Mary’s County
UMD Extension
301-475-4484​
umestmarys@umd.edu
https://extension.umd.edu/locations/st-marys-county/water-and-chesapeake-bay


Somerset County
Luke Marcek
410-651-2004
lucas.marcek@maryland.gov
2023 Backyard Buffer Sign-Up​


Talbot​ County
Scott Daniels
410 228 1861
scott.daniels@maryland.gov


Washington County
Robert Schwartz
301-791-4733
robertr.schwartz@maryland.gov


Wicomico County
Wilfred Dyer
410-543-1950
will.dyer@maryland.gov​


Worcester County
Kate Daub, Administrative Assis​tant
410-641-4002
kdaub@berlinmd.gov