Backyard Buffer Program Contacts

Backyard Buffer packet reservations are typically taken during the month of March, with bags available for pickup at a designated local site in time for the spring planting season. A limited number of bags are available each year on a first-come first-served basis.

​For more information on riparian forest buffers, visit https://dnr.maryland.gov/forests/Pages/publications/buffers.aspx

Backyard Buffer coordinator contact information by county

Please contact your county coordinator to sign up or for more information. Quantities are limited so reservations will be taken on a first-come, first-served basis.

Allegany County
Adam Miller
301-777-5590
adam.miller@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up (Preferred): https://forms.gle/fojc8JJURmReA74Z6​

Anne Arundel County - SOLD OUT
Robert Pavlik, Anne Arundel County Watershed Stewards Academy
410-222-3831
rpavlik@AACPS.org
http://aawsa.org/backyard-buffers


Baltimore County - SOLD OUT
Rob Prenger
410-665-5820
rob.prenger@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up: https://form.jotform.com/213542949017155


Calvert County
UMD Extension Service
410-535-3662


Caroline County - ​SOLD OUT
Jim Harris
410-479-1623
jim.harris@maryland.gov


Carroll County - SOLD OUT​​
Jamie Weaver
410-848-9290
jamie.weaver@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up: https://form.jotform.com/220304318836148


Cecil County - SOLD OUT
Rob Feldt
410-836-4571
rob.feldt@maryland.gov


Charles County
Kaitlyn Baligush, UMD Extension
301-539-3047
kbaligus@umd.edu
https://forms.gle/AEuP1nNVAepeJMgC7


Dorchester County
Scott Daniels
410-228-1861
scott.daniels@maryland.gov


Frederick County
Sean Weaver
301-791-4010
sean.weaver@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up: https://forms.gle/dMavZSwuNZPhnHXcA


Garrett County
Melissa Nash
301-334-3296
melissa.nash@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up (Preferred): https://forms.gle/fojc8JJURmReA74Z6


Harford County - SOLD OUT
Dan Lewis
410-692-5172
daniel.lewis1@maryland.gov


Howard County - SOLD OUT
James Eierdam
410-442-2080
james.eierdam@maryland.gov


Kent County - SOLD OUT
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu
Online Sign Up: https://washcoll.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3dVcw7zolo7hF5k


Montgomery County​ - SOLD OUT
James Eierdam
410-442-2080
james.eierdam@maryland.gov


Prince George’s County (Anacostia Watershed Only)
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Anacostia@mwcog.org
Online Sign Up: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/CMQZC8Y


Queen Anne’s County - SOLD OUT
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu
Online Sign Up: https://washcoll.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3dVcw7zolo7hF5k


St. Mary’s County
Nicole Basenback, UMD Extension
301-475-4484
nicoleb@umd.edu
Online Sign Up: https://forms.gle/3fjiBjeyJzBMsSXn6
For More Information: https://extension.umd.edu/locations/st-marys-county/water-and-chesapeake-bay


Somerset County
Luke Marcek
410-651-2004
lucas.marcek@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up: https://forms.gle/rSWyHwJeBZELmHUp7


Talbot County - SOLD OUT​​
Jim Harris
410-479-1623
jim.harris@maryland.gov


Washington County
Robert Schwartz
301-791-4733
robertr.schwartz@maryland.gov
Online Sign Up: http://tiny.cc/cc6ouz


Wicomico County
Wilfred Dyer
410-543-1950
will.dyer@maryland.gov


Worcester County
Mary Bohlen, Deputy Town Administrator, Town of Berlin
410-641-4314
mbohlen@berlinmd.gov
Online Sign Up: https://berlinmd.gov/bybtrees2022/


​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​