Backyard Buffer Program Contacts

Backyard Buffer packet reservations are typically taken during the month of March, with bags available for pickup at a designated local site in time for the spring planting season. A limited number of bags are available each year on a first-come first-served basis.

For more information on riparian forest buffers, visit
https://dnr.maryland.gov/forests/Pages/publications/buffers.aspx

All bags for the 2022 season have been claimed and distributed. Check again in February 2023 to sign up for next year!


Backyard Buffer coordinator contact information by county

Please contact your county coordinator to sign up or for more information. Quantities are limited so reservations will be taken on a first-come, first-served basis.

Allegany County​
Adam Miller
301-777-5590
adam.miller@maryland.gov


Anne Arundel County
Robert Pavlik, Anne Arundel County Watershed Stewards Academy
410-222-3831
rpavlik@AACPS.org
http://aawsa.org/backyard-buffers


Baltimore County
Rob Prenger
410-665-5820
rob.prenger@maryland.gov


Calvert County
UMD Extension Service
410-535-3662


Caroline County
Jim Harris
410-479-1623
jim.harris@maryland.gov


Carroll County
Jamie Weaver
410-848-9290
jamie.weaver@maryland.gov


Cecil County
Matt Spiroff
410-287-5777
matthew.spiroff@maryland.gov


Charles County
Kaitlyn Baligush, UMD Extension
301-539-3047
kbaligus@umd.edu


Dorchester County
Scott Daniels
410-228-1861
scott.daniels@maryland.gov


Frederick County
Sean Weaver
301-791-4010
sean.weaver@maryland.gov


Garrett County
Melissa Nash
301-334-3296
melissa.nash@maryland.gov


Harford County
Dan Lewis
410-692-5172
daniel.lewis1@maryland.gov


Howard County
James Eierdam
410-442-2080
james.eierdam@maryland.gov


Kent County
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu


Montgomery County
James Eierdam
410-442-2080
james.eierdam@maryland.gov


Prince George’s County (Anacostia Watershed Only)
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Anacostia@mwcog.org


Queen Anne’s County
Dan Small, Washington College
410-708-4479
dsmall2@washcoll.edu


St. Mary’s County
Nicole Basenback, UMD Extension
301-475-4484
nicoleb@umd.edu
https://extension.umd.edu/locations/st-marys-county/water-and-chesapeake-bay


Somerset County
Luke Marcek
410-651-2004
lucas.marcek@maryland.gov


Talbot County
Jim Harris
410-479-1623
jim.harris@maryland.gov


Washington County
Robert Schwartz
301-791-4733
robertr.schwartz@maryland.gov


Wicomico County
Wilfred Dyer
410-543-1950
will.dyer@maryland.gov​


Worcester County
Mary Bohlen, Deputy Town Administrator, Town of Berlin
410-641-4314
mbohlen@berlinmd.gov