​ Questions?

... or information about the Critical Area Program or questions relating to State oversight of local programs, e-mail us or call 410-260-3460

 CAC logo

Critical Area Commission
1804 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Telephone:410-260-3460
Fax:410-974-5338

Maryland Critical Area Commission Contacts

If you have general questions about the Critical Area Law and Criteria click here.

For policy, regulatory or mapping issues click here.

For issues related to the Buffer, other Habitat Protection Areas, or conservation and mitigation practices click here.

For more specific questions, please select from the list of counties in order to direct you to the appropriate staff person.

Map of Maryland counties.
Anne Arundel County Baltimore City Baltimore County
Calvert County Caroline County Cecil County
Charles County Dorchester County Harford County
Kent County Prince George's County Queen Anne's County
Somerset County St. Mary's County Talbot County
Wicomico County Worcester County

 

Kate Charbonneau
Executive Director

General Questions on the Critical Area Law and Criteria.

E-mail: Katherine.Charbonneau@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3475


Lisa Hoerger
Regulations and Mapping Coordinator

Coordinates among the Commission, State government, local governments and various stakeholders pertaining to the regulations and policies of the Commission. Also coordinates the remapping of the 1,000-foot Critical Area boundary.

Jurisdictions:
Federal Projects
Harford County

Aberdeen
Havre de Grace

E-mail: Lisa.Hoerger@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3478


Claudia Jones
Science Advisor

Program and policy issues regarding Habitat Protection Areas, wetlands streams and concerns relating to habitat protection and water quality. Specific questions about conservation, protective easements, and mitigation.

E-mail: Claudia.Jones@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3482


Nick Kelly
Regional Program Chief

General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, shore erosion control, etc.

E-mail: Nick.Kelly@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3483


Charlotte Shearin
Regional Program Chief

General project and program questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.

E-mail: Charlotte.Shearin@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3480


Alex DeWeese
Natural Resources Planner

Researches issues related to modified buffer areas, sea-level rise, and redevelopment.

Jurisdictions:
Baltimore City
Cecil County

Chesapeake City
Elkton
North East
Dorchester County
Kent County
Chestertown
Rock Hall

E-mail: Alexandra.Deweese@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3479


Kate Durant
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Anne Arundel County
Annapolis
Highland Beach
Somerset County
Worcester County

E-mail: Kathryn.Durant@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3477


Jennifer Esposito
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Calvert County
Charles County
Indian Head
Maryland Port Administration
Talbot County

Easton
Oxford
St. Michaels

E-mail: Jennifer.Esposito@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3468


Michael Grassmann
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Perryville (Cecil)
Port Deposit (Cecil)
Charlestown (Cecil)
Hillsboro (Caroline)
Queen Anne (Queen Anne’s)
Queenstown (Queen Anne’s)

E-mail: Michael.Grassmann@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3462


Tay Harris
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Caroline County
Denton
Ocean City
Prince George’s County
MNCPPC
WSSC
Wicomico County
Salisbury
Fruitland
Mardela Springs
Sharptown
Chesapeake Beach (Calvert County)
North Beach (Calvert County)
Cambridge (Dorchester County)
Secretary (Dorchester County)
Vienna (Dorchester County)
Crisfield (Somerset County)
Princess Anne (Somerset County)
Snow Hill (Worcester County)
Pocomoke City (Worcester County)

E-mail: Tay.Harris@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3481


Susan Makhlouf
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Baltimore County
Queen Anne’s County
St. Mary’s County
Greenwell State Park
Leonardtown
Historic St. Mary’s City
St. Mary’s College

E-mail: Susana.Makhlouf@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3476


Annie Sekerak
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:
Federalsburg (Caroline)
Greensboro (Caroline)
Betterton (Kent)
Millington (Kent)
Centreville (Queen Anne’s)
Church Hill (Queen Anne’s)

E-mail: Ann.Sekerak@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3466

Back to Top