The State Park in Garrett County derives its name from this former estate that included a large frame house, barns, and several outbuildings. A Baltimore land investor, Abijah Herrington, built the house in the mid-1800s.
The state purchased the property in 1935. A portion of the land now forms the 53-acre Herrington Lake constructed during the Civilian Conservation Corps era shortly after the state purchased the land. Near the present park office, visitors can still see the site of the manor house though only a foundation remains. Authorities razed the building in 1964.
The Herrington Manor House served in the 1930s as the headquarters for Swallow Falls, now Garrett – Potomac State Forest. State Forester Fred W. Besley held annual meetings at the Herrington Manor House. Some of the earliest pioneering Maryland forest conservation initiatives were formulated and launched at meetings in this building.
Abraham Lincoln Sines, first resident Forest Warden of Potomac Forest Reserve, lived in the Herrington Manor House. Sines was one of the first two forest wardens employed by the Maryland Board of Forestry, the other forest warden being Edmund George Prince (Patapsco Forest Reserve). Both Sines and Prince served as forest wardens as early as 1913.
N 39 27 15.5
W 79 27 03.2
Note: The 1913 Board of Forestry lists just two forest wardens employed by the Board of Forestry. Although the report does not give their names, the two forest wardens were Abraham Lincoln Sines of Garrett County, and Edmund George Prince of Baltimore County.
Maryland State Forests and State Parks
Significant Monuments and Landmarks In Garrett County, Maryland
By Offutt Johnson and Champ Zumbrun
July 11, 2013
Back to Feature Stories
580 Taylor Ave, Annapolis MD 21401