Elk Neck State Park Hunting 2021-2022 Rules, Regulations and Policies

- 1. Bow hunters are required to wear fluorescent orange or daylight fluorescent pink during shotgun and muzzleloader seasons and Junior Hunt Day:
 - a. October 21 October 30, November 27 December 11,
 - December 18, 2021 January 1, 2022 and January 7 January 8, 2022.
 - b. Junior Hunt Day: November 13, 2021.
- 2. All deer harvested count toward the state bag limits.
- 3. Shooting Hours
 - a. $\frac{1}{2}$ hour before sunrise to $\frac{1}{2}$ hour after sunset.
 - b. Hunters are permitted in the hunting areas 2 hours before sunrise and up to 2 hours after sunset.
- 4. Hunting is prohibited on Sundays.
- 5. Hunting is not permitted above or within 50 yards of a trail or road.
- 6. A DNR Managed Hunt Permit (MHP) and a Free Public Hunting Permit are required to hunt at Elk Neck State Park. Every hunter must have his or her own permit. These permits are NOT transferable.
- 7. All State and Federal hunting laws, as well as park regulations, will be strictly enforced.
- 8. Call ahead reservations through the Gwynnbrook Wildlife Office are required for the North East Beach Area.
- 9. Hunters (and non-hunting companions) must sign in and sign out at the sign-in box at each parking area EVERY time they enter or exit the hunting areas.
- 10. All harvested deer must be recorded at the sign-in box.
- 11. Park in designated areas only, as indicated by the hunting map.
- 12. Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their vehicle.
- 13. Hunt in designated areas only. Call 410-260-8888 prior to tracking outside of the hunting area.
- 14. Boundary signs are posted and maps are available on the Elk Neck State Park website. If you are unsure of a boundary or any rule or regulation, contact a ranger.
- 15. Portable tree stands are permitted, but cannot be screwed or nailed into trees. Tree stands cannot remain in areas when not occupied by a hunter.
- 16. Do not field dress near trails, parking lots or any areas used by other park visitors.
- 17. Junior Hunt Day is November 13, 2020. Bow only; muzzleloader and shotgun are not permitted on this day.
- 18. All deer harvested must be checked in within 24 hours. Visit https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal or call 1-888-800-0121.
- 19. Maryland State Parks are "Trash Free"; all trash must be packed out.
- 20. The Maryland Natural Resources Police has partnered with Maryland Wildlife Crimestoppers to prevent poaching of our fish and wildlife resources. You can report poaching and wildlife crime while remaining anonymous and be eligible for a cash reward. You can call or text Maryland Wildlife Crimestoppers at 1-443-433-4112 or email mwc.dnr@maryland.gov.
- 21. Please be advised, as a result of June 2019's tornado, a salvage harvest operation will be underway through the 2021- 2022 hunting season to remove dead, downed and damaged trees. Although the harvest area does not include hunting areas, wildlife activity and behavior may be impacted.
- 22. Violating the rules of this program WILL result in citation and loss of hunting permit.

CARTER PROPERTY

A maximum of 8 hunters can hunt at any given time on a first-come, first-served basis. Each hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle's dashboard.

- Hunting Dates
 - o Bow
 - September 10, 2021 January 31, 2022
 - Muzzleloader
 - October 21 October 30, 2021
 - December 18, 2021 January 1, 2022
 - o Shotgun
 - November 27 December 11, 2021
 - January 7 January 8, 2022
 - Junior Hunt (for hunters 16 years of age and under). A maximum of 8 youths will be permitted. Only hunters with a Junior Hunting License and Hunter Safety Card Number may participate. Each Junior Hunter must be accompanied in the field by an unarmed, licensed adult, age 21 or older. Each Junior Hunter must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their hunting permits on their vehicle's dashboard.
 - November 13, 2021.
 - Primitive Deer Hunt Days
 - February 1 February 3, 2022

<u>NORTH EAST BEACH</u> (Disabled Hunters Only)

Call ahead reservations are required due to limited site availability. To make reservations, call the Gwynnbrook WMA Office at 410-356-9272 Monday through Friday 7:30 - 11:30am August 16, 2021 – January 8, 2022. 2 hunters per AM and 2 hunters per PM; by permit and reservation only. Hunters (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet. Hunters must have certification of disability/special license and permit. Hunters must hunt at their reserved posted site location. Hunters in this area are permitted to be in the park <u>2 hours</u> before sunrise and <u>2 hours</u> after sunset.

- Hunting Dates
 - o Muzzleloader
 - October 21 October 30, 2021
 - December 18, 2021 January 1, 2022
 - \circ Shotgun
 - November 27 December 11, 2021
 - January 7 January 8, 2022

<u>CAMPGROUND AREA A, CAMPGROUND AREA B, ROGUES HARBOR and TURKEY</u> <u>POINT</u> (Bow only)

A maximum of 8 hunters at any given time at the Campground Area A, a maximum of 8 hunters at any given time at the Campground Area B, a maximum of 12 hunters at any given time at Rogues Harbor and a maximum of 12 hunters at any given time at Turkey Point on a first come, first served basis. Each hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle's dashboard.

- Hunting Dates for Campground Area A, Rogues Harbor and Turkey Point: November 6, 2021 – January 31, 2022
- Hunting Dates for Campground Area B: December 4, 2021 January 31, 2022

The future of this hunting program depends on you. Please exercise caution and conduct yourself in an ethical, sportsmanlike manner when in the field.

Elk Neck State Park

White-Tailed Deer Hunting 2021-2022

To Contact a Park Ranger or the Natural Resources Police, call 410-260-8888.

Registration:

- All Hunters that plan to hunt at Elk Neck State Park will need to get their Free Public Hunting Permit through COMPASS.
 - Hunters must still have their regular hunting license (resident \$24.50; non-resident \$130.00) and the DNR Managed Hunt Permit (\$35.00), as well as bow or muzzleloader stamps if applicable (resident \$6.00 ea.; non-resident \$25.00 ea.).
 - Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their vehicle.
- Hunters with a Universal Disability Pass will still be required to make reservations by calling the Gwynnbrook Wildlife Office Monday through Friday 7:30 11:30am beginning August 16, 2021 (closed on holidays): <u>410-356-9272</u>
 - Disability Pass hunting sites can only be reserved 8 days in advance; only 1 of those days can be a Saturday.
 - Disability pass holders are able to reserve specific site numbers: 1 or 2, AM or PM session (AM hunters must be off the site by noon; PM hunters can enter the site at noon).

About the registration process:

- You can apply for a hunting license and Free Public Hunting Permit online at: <u>https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal</u>
- Complete the information (DNR ID# and Date of Birth) and click the Login button.