PERSONAL WATERCRAFT PRE-RIDE CHECKLIST

CHECK THROTTLE CONTROL

Check operation of throttle lever. Make sure it returns to the fully closed position when released.

SAFETY LANYARD

Check safety stop lanyard to insure engine will shut off when lanyard is removed.

FUEL

Make sure you have sufficient fuel.

FUEL PRESSURE

Loosen filler cap to relieve any pressure, then tighten cap securely.

CHECK FOR FUEL LEAKS & VENTILATE ENGINE COMPARTMENT

Open engine cover for several minutes.

STEERING

Check to insure steering is functional. Ensure that the thrust nozzle moves in response to turning the handlebars.

CLEAN PUMP & DRAIN BILGE

Clear jet pump and drive shaft of any foreign substances.

FIRE EXTINGUISHER

Make sure the extinguisher is fully charged and up to date.

CHECK HOSE CONNECTIONS

Make sure all connections, bolts, nuts, and fasteners are secure and tight.

CHECK FOR HULL DAMAGE







Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Secretary



Natural Resources Police Safety Education and Outreach Unit 305 Marine Academy Drive, Suite 1 Stevensville, MD 21666 410-643-8502 Toll Free 877-620-8367 DNR.MARYLAND.GOV

Ride responsibly! Practice common sense and courtesy! Play it safe on all waterways in Maryland & across the country!

The facilities and services of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources are available to all without regard to race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, age, national origin orphysicalor mental disability. This document is available in alternative format upon request. Photos courtesy of USA Waterskiing except tubing photo courtesy of U.S. Coast Guard.

DNR# 07-762006-139

2/21

Personal watercraft **REGULATIONS**









A MESSAGE FROM THE NATURAL RESOURCES POLICE:

Personal Watercraft (PWC) are classified by the United States Coast Guard as a "Class A Vessel", which is a motorboat less than 16 feet in length. Inexperienced operators may not always recognize potential dangers and consequently are involved in a high percentage of accidents, most of which are collisions.

Often called Jet Skis or Wave Runners, PWC are a popular form of boating in Maryland and across the United States. Along with the positive attributes comes serious responsibility, so:

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO!

The Natural Resources Police believe in carefully studying the boating laws in order to become a more knowledgeable and responsible boater. By studying this brochure, you will have a safer and more enjoyable experience. Remember, safety is everyone's job.

> **IMPORTANT FACTS** *Remember the 100 foot rule* Stay at least 100 feet from everything

Most PWC have no brakes Allow long distances for stopping

No Throttle - No Steerage You must maintain some throttle to maneuver

Avoid tunnel vision Don't just look forward, continually look to both sides and behind while riding

RULES AND REGULATIONS

To improve and promote safe and responsible boating on the state's waterways, the Natural Resources Police enforces the PWC regulations explained in this brochure. It is important for you to read and understand these regulations before operating a PWC.

- Maryland requires the operator of a PWC to be at least 16 years of age. Also, anyone born on or after July 1, 1972 must carry a NASBLAapproved certificate of boating safety education.
- In Maryland waters other than the Atlantic Ocean, PWC cannot operate at a speed greater than 6 knots within 100 feet of other boats, piers, pilings, bridge structures, shoreline, wharfs, people in the water or other PWC.
- You may not operate a PWC in any of the following negligent manners:
 - Jumping or attempting to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that vessel;
 - Riding backwards and/or standing on the seat of the craft while riding;
 - Weaving through and recklessly operating in areas of congestion;
 - Speeding in restricted areas such as marinas, minimum wake zones, environmentally sensitive areas; or
 - Operating in a manner that endangers the life, limb or property of any person, including the operator. (i.e. splashing other PWC or swimmers, buzzing piers and other boaters, etc.)

- A person may not operate or give permission to operate a PWC in excess of idle speed on any waters of the State less than 18 inches in depth.
- PWC cannot operate between the hours of sunset and sunrise or during times of limited visibility.
- When towing a water skier, you must have a three-person craft with a rear-facing observer who is at least twelve years of age.
- When operating a PWC in Maryland waters of the Atlantic Ocean, you must not operate or give permission to operate a PWC within 300 feet of serf fisherman or people in the water or, at a speed greater than 6 knots within 100 feet of vessels, wharfs, jetties, shoreline or piers.
- An individual may not operate or give permission to operate a PWC registered in the State of Maryland unless a regulation sticker approved by the Department of Natural Resources is properly attached to the PWC.
- Boating under the influence of drugs and/or alchol impairs judgement, motor skills and concentration.

DEEP CREEK LAKE

PWC and hover crafts may not be operated on the lake between 11 am and 4 pm from Saturday-Monday of Memorial Day weekend. This also applies to the Saturdays, Sundays and holidays from July 1 through Labor Day. Please contact Deep Creek Lake Recreation Area at 310-387-4111 for more information. **SAFETY EQUIPMENT**

Required by Maryland Law

LIFEJACKET

Each person on board a PWC must wear a US Coast Guard approved type I, II, III or V life jacket and it must be size-specific for the wearer.

KILL SWITCH LANYARD

An PWC must be equipped with a functioning selfcircling device, or a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch that must be attached to the operator, the operator's clothing or the operator's life jacket.

SOUND PRODUCING DEVICE

A whistle or horn must be carried on board a PWC in order to make the sound signals required by the rules of navigation.

FIRE EXTINGUISHER

All PWC must have an approved B-I fire extinguisher that is in working order.

OTHER MARYLAND REQUIREMENTS

A PWC must be registered with the Department of Natural Resources and must appropriately display the registration numbers and validation decals.

