MET GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE Minutes for Meeting of Tuesday May 23, 2023 1 PM

Meeting held virtually via Google Meet and conference call

Committee members present: Toby Lloyd (Chair), Lori Lynch, Greg Bowen, Megan Benjamin, Nathan Volke, Gary Burnett, John Turgeon (MET Director, non-voting)

- 1. Mr. Lloyd asked the committee if anyone had questions about the minutes of the 4/18/23 committee meeting, which were e-mailed to the committee members prior to the meeting. There were no questions or comments. Mr. Bowen motioned to approve the minutes. Mr. Volke seconded the motion. All voted in favor.
- 2. Regarding MET Trustee and ex-officio Trustee vacancies, Mr. Turgeon notified the Committee that Governor Moore has designated Hilary Bell to serve in the role of ex-officio MET Trustee representing the Executive Branch. Ms. Bell is the Director of the Maryland DNR's Land Acquisition and Planning (LAP) unit, which administers land and easement acquisitions purchased using Program Open Space funds. Like MET, LAP partners with land trusts for most of its easement projects. Ms. Bell is very familiar with MET and its programming. Mr. Bowen would like to have Ms. Bell serve on the Board's Land Trust Outreach Committee.

Mr. Volke reported that he reached out to State Delegate Kipke and State Senator Simonaire to discuss MET's trustee vacancies and the best way to get them filled by the Speaker of the House of Delegates and Senate President. Delegate Kipke and Senator Simonaire advised working directly with the House Speaker's and Senate President's respective offices to address these vacancies. Mr. Turgeon discussed that there are currently three trustee vacancies, and the Governor, Senate President, and Speaker of the House get to nominate candidates to fill one each of the vacancies. Mr. Turgeon will draft and mail letters to each of these officials requesting nominations and to provide a list of MET's recommended candidates.

- 3. Mr. Lloyd discussed the draft MET board committees roster that was provided to the Governance Committee prior to this meeting. The Committee recommended approval of the roster with the additional nominations of Susanne Richards to the Finance Committee, Craig Highfield to the Lands Committee, Hilary Bell and Toby Lloyd to the Land Trust Outreach Committee. Ms. Benjamin motion approval, Mr. Lloyd seconded, and all voted in favor.
- 4. In other business Mr. Lloyd discussed the importance of improving trustee in-person attendance of board meetings.

Next MET Governance Committee meeting is Tuesday, August 22, 2023, at 11 am.