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Commercial Regulations

Regulations change throughout the year. The best way to learn about applicable
regulations is to search the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) at http://
www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/ComarHome.html. Visit the DNR Fisheries Regula-
tions webpage at http:/dnr. maryland.gov/fisheries/requlations/regindex.asp for
regulations summaries by species and gear type as well as proposed or draft regu-
lations.

COMAR Online:

There are three different ways to search for regulations in COMAR.

1. The first is a keyword search that brings up all regulations with that keyword,
or search for a specific codification number. Some species have many com-
mon names, so if one name produces no results, try the other name (i.e. use
striped bass instead of rockfish).

2. The second option is a keyword search within a specific title. Select the title
“08" for the Department of Natural Resources and search for a keyword or
codification number within that title.

3. The third option is to navigate through the Table of Contents. Choose “Title
08" for the Department of Natural Resources. From there, choose the subtitle
“02 Fisheries Service”. Select one of the chapters to view a list of all the regu-
lations in that chapter.

SOS FAQ DIRECTORY FORMS  SITEMAP  CONTACT US

John P. McDonough, Secretary of State  ~
Brian Morris, Acting Administrator, Division of State Documents

Search Options for COMAR Online

Search on a word or phrase _or enter the codification number
(search is word specific unless you add an asterisk *)

Option 1

warch a specific Title
(will earch only that ttle for word or codification number)

Option 2

Option 3, Access through Table of Contents Structure
(will display table of contents by Title, Subtitle & Chapter)

Important Information:

In August 2003, the State Ethics C: ission Advi were no longer pnnted in COMAR Title 19A, but are available
ONLY as part of CON‘AP Online. They can be accessed u! searched using all three search options
cger;n Option 1: ex. 79.01)
ion 2: select Advisory Opinions link under 194 (which limits the results retumed)
Search Oplion 3 Advisory Opinion's listed by year. This option will return the opinions in that year

Effective Dales:
+ COMAR requlations are effective to date
» COMAR is updated biweekly comespanding with the effactive dates in the most current Maryland Reqister issue

Maryland Annotated Code

In addition to COMAR, read the Maryland Annotated Code online at http:/
www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mdcode/. Scroll down to “Natural Resources” and
click + thenclick + for “Title 4: Fish and Fisheries”. Choose the + next to the
applicable subtitle to view the laws.

Public Notices

For certain species, DNR may modify catch limits, size limits, quotas, or open or
close a season by public notice. To view these public notices, visit http://
dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/notices/notices.asp.

Still have questions about regulations? Call 410-260-8300
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License Types

License Name

Abbreviation

Annual
Fee

Description

Limited Crab Allows the use of up to 50 crab pots to har-
Harvester LCGC s1d0 vest crabs.
Crab Harvester - Allows the use of up to 300 crab pots to har-
300 pots LB $150 vest crabs.
Crab Harvester - CB6 $100 Allows the use of up to 600 crab pots to har-
600 pots vest crabs. Must already have a CB3 or TFL
Crab Harvester - CB9 $150 Allows the use of up to 900 crab pots to har-
900 pots vest crabs. Must already have a CB3 or TFL
Finfish - Hook & Allows the use of hook and line to harvest
Line HL - 100 finfigh,
Unlimited Finfish FIN $150 Allows the use of all legal equipment to har-
Harvester vest finfish.
o : Comprehensive license. Includes CB3, FIN,
pnimited Tdal  tr 300 OYH, ODB, CLM, CTL, and FGR. Must pay
oyster surcharge of $300 to harvest oysters.
hiatET Allows the use of diving, tonging, or hand-
Hz Ep OYH $100 scraping to harvest oysters. Must pay an
oyster surcharge of $300 to harvest oysters.
Allows the use of a dredge boat to harvest
gg::er Dredge oDB $250 oysters. Must pay an oyster surcharge of
$300 in order to harvest oysters.
Gl HERoutEr CLM $100 cg:r/;;;iuse of all legal equipment to har-
Conch, Turtles & CTL $100 Allows the use of all legal equipment to har-
Lobster vest conch, turtles, and lobsters.
Allows a Maryland resident to provide ser-
Resident Fishing vices as a fishing guide in the tidal waters of
FGR $100
Guide Maryland. Must have U.S. Coast Guard
(USCG) Captain's license.
; Allows a nonresident to provide services as a
Nonresident . FGN  $200 fishing guide in the tidal waters of Maryland.
g Must have USCG Captain's license.
A per vessel charge. Allows licensee to hire
Master Guide FGV $100 a captain without a fishing guide license, but
who posses a USCG Captain's license.
Allows the landing and selling in Maryland of
Seafood Landing  SFL $350 fish, scallops, and certain shellfish harvested
outside of state waters.
Allows the buying and selling of seafood
Seafood Dealer FDL  $250/$50 caught in Maryland waters. $250 for non-
harvesters; $50 for harvesters.
Northern Snake- 2 v
head Bowfishing NSB $15 Allows the use of bowfishing gear to harvest

License

Northern snakehead

These licenses allow harvest from Maryland tidal waters, excluding the Potomac
River. Individuals who would like to obtain a commercial tidal fish license are put on
a waiting list until a license becomes available. The waiting lists are maintained by
the DNR Service Centers. To find the nearest Service Center, visit http:/
dnr.maryland.qov/Pages/service centers.aspx.
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Permit Types
You MUST have a permit to catch certain species in Maryland. These include:
®  American Eel e  Spiny Dogfish
e  Black Sea Bass* e  Striped Bass
®  Horseshoe Crab* e  Summer Flounder”
®  Spapping Turtle e  Yellow Perch

*Permitted species with bycatch allowances. For details, visit http://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/
regulations/table.asp?c=commercial or search the Code of Maryland Regulations.

Below is a table that shows which license types are eligible to receive each permit.

License Required
Permit Type TFL FIN HLI CTL SFL LCC CB3
American Eel X X X X X X
Black Sea Bass X X X X
Horseshoe Crab X X X
Snapping Turtle X X
Spiny Dogfish X X X X
Striped Bass X X X
Summer Flounder X X X X
Yellow Perch X X X

Limited Entry Fisheries:

Black Sea Bass: Individuals need a federal permit and a federally regis-
tered vessel in addition to a Maryland permit. Permit holders are assigned
a certain percentage of the annual quota at the beginning of the season,
whereby they have all year to catch their assigned percentage.

Fee: $25

Horseshoe Crab: A daily catch limit is assigned to permit holders based
on historical catches from previous years.

Fee: $25

Spiny Dogfish: A daily catch limit is assigned to permit holders based on
historical catches from previous years.

Fee: $25

Striped Bass: Individuals are assigned a share and choose to enter those
allocated pounds into either the Common Pool or Individual Transferable
Quota fishery.

Fee: $150 (with TFL), $200 (with FIN or HLI)

Summer Flounder: Individuals need a federal permit and a federally reg-
istered vessel in addition to a Maryland permit. Permit holders are as-
signed a certain percentage of the annual quota at the beginning of the
season, whereby they have all year to catch their assigned percentage.

Fee: $25
Unlimited Entry Fisheries:

American Eel: Season and catch limits set by public notice. Free permit.
Snapping Turtle: Season open year-round.

Fee: $25

Yellow Perch: Regulations are area specific: Upper Bay, Chester River,
and Patuxent River.

Fee: $25

Menhaden Bycatch Landing Permit:

Individuals who meet certain criteria may receive a Menhaden Bycatch Landing
Permit, which allows permit holders to continue harvesting menhaden after the
fishery is closed. Catch limits are announced by public notice.
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Commercial Reporting

The following commercial reports must be sent to DNR each month during the time
period listed:

+ Daily Commercial Fisheries Catch Log (Finfish Report)
Due January through December

« Daily Record of Commercial Crabbing (Crab Report)
Due April through December

« Commercial Charter Boat Captain's Daily Log (Charter Report)
Due April through December

« Maryland Monthly Oyster Report (Oyster Report)
Due October through March

« Maryland Monthly Clam Report (Clam Report)
Due September through August

« Maryland Report of Seafood Buying Activity (Dealer Report)
Due January through December

Report Due Dates

Monthly reports are due to DNR no later than the 10th day following the end of
the reporting month (i.e. the April report is due by May 10th). If DNR has not re-
ceived a report by that time it is considered LATE. The names of those individuals
with late reports appear on the “Late Reports” list on the commercial fisheries web-
page at http://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/commercial/index.asp. If the report is still
not received by DNR 50 days after the report due date, the licensee receives an
official violation. Two or more official violations for any of the report types in a 12
month period may result in a license suspension.

The table below lists which reports each license type is responsible for.

Common Report Name
Finfish Crab Charter | Oyster Clam
License Type Abbreviation Report | Report Log Report | Report

Limited Crab Harvester LCC X
Crab Harvester - 300/600/900 pots ~ CB3/CB6/CB9 X
Finfish - Hook & Line HLI . X
Unlimited Finfish Harvester FIN X
Unlimited Tidal Fish TFL X X Y *Z *0
Oyster Harvester OYH 4
Oyster Dredge Boat oDB *Z
Clam Harvester CLM *0
Conch, Turtles & Lobster CTL X
Resident Fishing Guide FGR vy
Nonresident Fishing Guide FGN i 1
Master Guide FGV Y
Northern Snakehead Bowfishing NSB X

*O - Only required if the licensee has declared for either hard, soft, razor clams.
*¥Y - Only required from a licensee with a registered charter vessel.
*Z - Only required if the licensee has paid the oyster surcharge.



Ways to Submit Reports

Mail paper reports to:

Fisheries Service
Attn: Fisheries Statistics Program
580 Taylor Avenue B-2
Annapolis, MD 21401

Email to FisheriesHarvestReport. DNR@maryland.gov

Fax to 410-260-8279, Attn: Fisheries Statistics Program.

Find blank reports online at http://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/pages/commercial-
reporting.aspx

Electronic Reporting Options

FACTS Electronic Reporting

Reporting crab and finfish harvest- including striped bass and yellow perch- is
available through the FACTS electronic reporting system. This program allows
participants to report through a website accessed from a smartphone, tablet, or
computer, or by calling into a call center. Individuals only report on the days that they
work. Special incentives are available to participants, including a flexible day off for
crabbers, and using box tags for yellow perch. For more information, visit http:/
dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/Pages/e-reporting/index.aspx or call Stephanie
Richards at 410-260-8314.

SAFIS Online Reporting
The SAFIS online reporting system is only for those who already have an
account. If you have any questions, contact Connie Lewis at 410-260-8296.

Questions about reporting? Call the Commercial Reporting
Hotline at 1-800-893-2722

Turn to the back cover for instructions on how to fill out a crab or finfish
report.
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How to fill out Crab and Finfish reports

¥MaRYLAM

Place the CRAB barcode
for the appropriate month \ |
on the report. Please use
only one label per report.

Enter harvest for the
days you crabbed.
Please fill out all informa-
tion for the gear type &
amount, area, hours, and
crew. Crew is the number
of non license holders.

Record the maximum :
number of crab pots in \
the water that month. o
If you catch eel for bait, —_"""
record that in the appro-
priate spaces.

10
o

Be sure to sign

your report.

o Grab kb

DAILY RECORD OF COMMERCIAL CRABBING 2011
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JOSEPH FISHMAN
520 TAYLOR AVE
ANNAPOLIS. MD 21401

Check the box if you are
finished for the year.
Please do not send any
more reports for the rest
of the season.
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DNR Copy - Return to DNR

Write your vessel
registration number

or documentation
number on the Iine\

/E

Check the box if you did not fish. Write in a month when you will continue
fishing. Check the bottom box if you are finished for the year. Please do not
send any more reports for the rest of the season.
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As

\\En@’r harvest for the days you

fished. Please fill out all required
columns. List all species caught,
including bait and those species
also reported on permit cards.

Catch should be in pounds 1
unless you specify otherwise. |

dSend AR

Place the FINFISH barcode for the
appropriate month on the report.
Place additional barcodes on the
back of the form.

+ R

Be sure to sign your report.



