# MINUTES

## Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays 1804 West Street, Suite 100 Annapolis, Maryland

# **January 4, 2023**

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Charles C. Deegan called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

#### **Commission Members in Attendance:**

Tim Adams, Prince George's County Jeffrey Ferguson, Eastern Shore at Large Anita Grant, Western Shore at Large Sue Greer, Charles County Deborah Herr Cornwell, Department of Planning Sandy Hertz, Department of Transportation Michael Hewitt, St. Mary's County Dawn Jacobs, Kent County Charles Laird, Somerset County James Lewis, Caroline County Pat Mahoney, Calvert County Chad Malkus, Dorchester County Gary Mangum, Queen Anne's County Jennifer Merritt, Worcester County - Chesapeake Bay Alisha Mulkey, Department of Agriculture Catherine McCall, Department of Natural Resources Ewing McDowell, Department of Commerce Steven Parker, Cecil County Tammy Roberson, Department of Environment Steven Taylor, Worcester County - Coastal

#### **Commission Members Not in Attendance:**

Gail Blazer, Worcester County – Coastal Bays (Town of Ocean City) Sean Eames, Baltimore City Michael McCarthy, Talbot County

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: Commissioner Hertz moved to approve the minutes from the October meeting. Commissioner Mangum seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **STAFF PRESENTATIONS**

#### **PROJECT SUBCOMMITTEE:**

#### Maryland Department of Transportation – State Highway Administration – Route 7 Pedestrian Bridge in Elkton (Cecil County)

Ms. Charlotte Shearin presented for vote the proposal by the Maryland Department of Transportation – State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) to reconstruct an existing

# January 4, 2023 Meeting Minutes *Page 2 of 3*

sidewalk and curb ramps along the southside of MD 7D (Delaware Avenue), install new sidewalks, construct a 10-foot-wide pedestrian bridge over Big Elk Creek, resurface existing driveway entrances, and upgrade roadway signage. Improvements will also include removal of existing pavement along the west side of MD 7D to narrow the roadway and create a grassed area between the roadway and the new sidewalk. The project will extend from MD 281 (Main Street) to Creswell Avenue in the town of Elkton in Cecil County. She presented the staff report, the contents of which have been incorporated into and made part of the minutes. The staff report included an amended condition subsequent to the morning's Project Subcommittee meeting.

The sidewalk improvements were requested by the Town of Elkton and will provide safe ADA accessible connectivity from the historic district along MD 281 (Main Street) to the paved trail at Meadow Park, located east of the Big Elk Creek bridge crossing on the southside of MD 7D. The pedestrian bridge will provide safe access for pedestrians and bicyclists across Big Elk Creek as the existing MD 7D bridge is only wide enough for vehicular traffic. The existing bridge is considered structurally sound by MDOT SHA's Office of Structures; therefore, a prefabricated pedestrian bridge will be installed on the southside of the existing MD 7D bridge. The Town will take ownership of the bridge once installed and will be responsible for all future maintenance.

Commissioner Hertz asked Ms. Vainieri for clarification on how to write the motion in accordance with the revised staff report, and the motion was so revised. Following this, Chairman Deegan recognized Project Subcommittee Chair Hertz, who moved on behalf of the Project Subcommittee that the Commission approve the proposed project with the following conditions:

- 1. Prior to the start of construction or within 60 days of Commission approval whichever comes first, MDOT SHA shall submit a copy of all final plans, permits, and approvals, including stormwater management plans, MDE stormwater and erosion and sediment control approval, and NPDES approval, to Commission staff.
- 2. Prior to the start of construction or within 60 days of Commission approval, whichever comes first, MDOT SHA shall provide to Commission staff a planting plan showing the location of the proposed mitigation plantings by the Town of Elkton to meet the required Buffer mitigation and the 10% stormwater management mitigation.

Commissioner Ferguson seconded the motion. All voted in favor. Motion passed unanimously.

### **PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE:**

**Refinement: Anne Arundel County – Growth Allocation Provisions Text Amendment** Ms. Jen Esposito presented for vote a refinement to the Critical Area Program for Anne Arundel County. She presented her staff report, the contents of which have been incorporated into and made a part of these minutes.

Anne Arundel County has submitted a text amendment to their Critical Area Program for approval by the Critical Area Commission. Bill No. 71-22 amends sections of the County's Zoning Code relating to the growth allocation process. The bill allows for designating new IDA lands of less than 20 acres in size, provided that certain criteria are met, and modifies the criteria for rescission of growth allocation.

January 4, 2023 Meeting Minutes *Page 3 of 3* 

Chairman Deegan recognized Program Subcommittee Chair Greer, who stated that the Program Subcommittee concurs with the Chairman's determination that the text amendment be processed as a refinement to Anne Arundel County's Critical Area Program. Further, she recommended that the Chairman approve the text amendment as outlined in the staff report.

Chairman Deegan said that he accepted the recommendation, and that this would be his final decision.

#### **LEGAL UPDATES:**

Ms. Emily Vainieri had no updates to report.

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

None.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

Chairman Deegan mentioned that Stuart Chaney, who spoke at the last Commission meeting, would be receiving the Admiral of the Chesapeake award the next week.

Upreto Dullerton

2/1/23

Lynette Fullerton, Commission Secretary

Date of Approval