MINUTES

Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays 1804 West Street, Suite 100 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

February 3, 2021

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chairman Charles C. Deegan called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. Chairman Deegan announced that the meeting was being held remotely on Microsoft Teams due to the current public health emergency. He shared that the meeting was being recorded and streamed live to the public and that a copy of the recording would be made available on the Commission's website. Executive Director Kate Charbonneau did a roll call to confirm the Commission members in attendance.

Commission Members in Attendance:

Tim Adams, Prince George's County

Curtis Beulah, Harford County

Gail Blazer, Worcester County – Coastal Bays (Town of Ocean City)

Jeffrey Ferguson, Eastern Shore at Large

Anita Grant, Western Shore at Large

Sue Greer, Charles County

Deborah Herr Cornwell, Department of Planning

Sandy Hertz, Department of Transportation

Michael Hewitt, St. Mary's County

Matt Johnston, Anne Arundel County

Charles Laird, Somerset County

James Lewis, Caroline County

Pat Mahoney, Calvert County

Gary Mangum, Queen Anne's County

David Marks, Baltimore County

Jennifer Merritt, Worcester County – Chesapeake Bay

Catherine McCall, Department of Natural Resources

Michael McCarthy, Talbot County

Ewing McDowell, Department of Commerce

Julie Oberg, Department of Agriculture

Steven Parker, Cecil County

Tammy Roberson, Department of Environment

Donald Sutton, Kent County

Caroline Varney-Alvarado, Department of Housing and Community Development

Commission Members Not in Attendance:

N/A

February 3, 2021 Meeting Minutes *Page 2 of 2*

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Commissioner Mike Hewitt motioned to approve the January 6, 2021 minutes, and Commissioner David Marks seconded. All voted to approve.

STAFF PRESENTATIONS

Renewable Energy Regulations – Vote for Final Publication in the Maryland Register Ms. Lisa Hoerger presented an overview of the regulations to be voted on, and reviewed the work to date.

On November 12, 2020, at a special meeting, the Commission reviewed the proposed changes and proposed new draft regulations concerning renewable energy regulations in COMAR, Title 27. The purpose of these regulations is to provide development standards for minor (2 MW or less) and major (greater than 2MW) solar projects in the Critical Area on private lands, State lands, and lands owned by local jurisdictions. The regulations balance the State's renewable energy goals while providing measures to protect habitat and water quality in the Critical Area. Specifically, the regulations create a mechanism to permit major solar energy generating systems in the resource conservation area without the use of growth allocation; in lieu of this, a reservation of development rights mechanism is required. The regulations apply to all three Critical Area designations (intensely developed areas, limited development areas, and resource conservation areas). The regulations include provisions related to buffer disturbance, forest clearing, habitat protection areas, mitigation, and density provisions for location in the resource conservation area of the Critical Area.

At the November 12, 2020 meeting the Commission voted to give the staff permission to publish the draft in the Maryland Register as proposed regulations. The regulations were published in the December 18th edition of the Maryland Register and the public comment period ran through January 19, 2021. There were not public comments during this period. If the staff is allowed to submit the regulations as final, the notice would appear in the February 26, 2021 edition of the Maryland Register, with a final effective date of March 8, 2021.

Following Ms. Hoerger's presentation, Chairman Deegan recognized Commissioner Catherine McCall, who moved on behalf of the Renewable Energy Regulations Workgroup to authorize Commission staff to publish the regulations as final regulations in the Maryland Register. Commissioner Jeff Ferguson seconded the motion. **Motion passed unanimously**.

PRESENTATION:

Annie Sekerak and Michael Grassmann presented an update on their work as Circuit Riders.

LEGAL UPDATES:

Assistant Attorney General Emily Vainieri had no legal updates.

Lynette Fullerton, Commission Secretary

4/7/21
Date of Approval