MINUTES

Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays 1804 West Street, Suite 100 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

November 12, 2020

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Charles C. Deegan called the special meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Chairman Deegan announced that the special meeting was being held remotely on Microsoft Teams due to the current public health emergency. He shared that the special meeting was being recorded and streamed live to the public and that a copy of the recording would be made available on the Commission's website. The purpose of the special meeting was for the Commission to consider and vote on the renewable energy regulations.

Executive Director Kate Charbonneau did a roll call to confirm the Commission members in attendance.

Commission Members in Attendance:

Tim Adams, Prince George's County Curtis Beulah, Harford County Gail Blazer, Worcester County - Coastal Bays (Town of Ocean City) Carolyn Cummins, Worcester County - Coastal Bays Jeffrey Ferguson, Eastern Shore at Large Anita Grant, Western Shore at Large Sue Greer, Charles County Deborah Herr Cornwell, Department of Planning Michael Hewitt, St. Mary's County Matt Johnston, Anne Arundel County Charles Laird, Somerset County Pat Mahoney, Calvert County Gary Mangum, Queen Anne's County David Marks, Baltimore County Catherine McCall, Department of Natural Resources Michael McCarthy, Talbot County Ewing McDowell, Department of Commerce Marianne Navarro, Baltimore City Julie Oberg, Department of Agriculture Steven Parker, Cecil County Tammy Roberson, Department of Environment Donald Sutton, Kent County Caroline Varney-Alvarado, Department of Housing and Community Development

Commission Members Not in Attendance:

Sandy Hertz, Department of Transportation James Lewis, Caroline County Jennifer Merritt, Worcester County – Chesapeake Bay <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: Commissioner David Marks motioned to approve the October 2020 minutes, and Commissioner Adams seconded. All voted to approve.

MAPPING UPDATE:

Chairman Deegan asked Ms. Lisa Hoerger to provide an update about the status of current mapping projects and recent mailings. Ms. Hoerger informed the Commission that staff had recently sent letters to citizens in Harford County and the Towns of Havre de Grace and Port Deposit informing them of changes on their property to the Critical Area boundary. Commission staff were answering questions from citizens and staff would soon be delivering Summary Draft maps to those jurisdictions.

REGULATIONS:

VOTE – Renewable Energy Regulations

Ms. Hoerger presented for vote to publish as proposed, the draft regulations for renewable energy generating systems in the Critical Area. She started by thanking the efforts of the Renewable Energy Workgroup members chaired by Catherine McCall that included Debbie Herr Cornwell, Julie Oberg, Jim Lewis, Matt Johnston and Mike McCarthy. She also acknowledged the work and assistance of her colleagues Charlotte Shearin, Nick Kelly, Kate Charbonneau, Emily Vanieri and Ren Serey, the former Executive Director and Gary Setzer, a former Commission member.

The draft regulations are the culmination of three years of effort and provide the basis for review and approval of solar energy generating systems of all sizes in the Critical Area. The regulations consist of amendments to COMAR 27.01.01 General Provisions; COMAR 27.01.02 Development in the Critical Area; COMAR 27.01.09 Habitat Protection Areas in the Critical Area; COMAR 27.01.14 Solar Energy Generating Systems; COMAR 27.02.01 General Provisions; COMAR 27.02.04 State or Local Agency Actions Resulting in Major Development on Private Lands or Lands Owned by Local Jurisdictions; COMAR 27.02.05 State Agency Actions Resulting in Development on State-Owned Lands; COMAR 27.02.07 Commission Review, Decision Process, Time Frames; COMAR 27.02.08 Appeals.

Ms. Hoerger directed the Commissioners to her original November 12, 2020 staff report and her revised staff report, both of which are incorporated into and made a part of these minutes. Ms. Hoerger read into the record the purpose of the regulations which are as follows:

The proposed regulations address the fact that medium and large-scale solar projects are considered a commercial or industrial use in the Resource Conservation Area (RCA) and, if allowed, those types of uses would require growth allocation. However, medium and large-scale solar are generally temporary and not intended to be an anchor for new growth areas in a jurisdiction; therefore growth allocation is not an appropriate means to site these projects in the RCA. The regulations will attempt to achieve a balance of supporting the State's goal of increasing renewable energy projects across the State while protecting the land, habitat and water resources in the Critical Area, but especially in the RCA which constitutes 80% of the Critical Area.

November 12, 2020 Meeting Minutes *Page 3 of 4*

The proposal addresses community, commercial, industrial and utility-scale solar generating stations in the Critical Area. Rooftop solar, and generally ground-based, accessory solar for individual private use would be regulated only to protect the Critical Area Buffer and other Habitat Protection Areas.

Ms. Hoerger then reviewed the changes made by the workgroup and staff since the September and October meetings as outlined in both November staff reports. During the review, Ms. Charbonneau asked whether a clarification was needed to COMAR 27.01.14.05 D (1). The suggested change was to delete "...to 20 percent of the entirety of the project area" and amend it to read "...to 20 percent of the entirety of the forest and develop woodlands in the project area". These same changes were made in 27.02.05.15-1 D (1).

A similar change was made to 27.01.14.05 D (2) from "...entirety of the project area" to "...entirety of the forest and developed woodlands in the project area". The same change was made to COMAR 27.02.05.15-1 D (2).

Ms. Charbonneau suggested a change in COMAR 27.01.14.05 C (2) from "development rights" to "density rights". The same change was made to the definition of "reservation of resource conservation area density rights" to ensure the term "density" was used consistently.

No other changes were proposed. Ms. Hoerger said the next step in the process is to send the draft regulations to the Division of State Documents and to the Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review Committee.

There were no questions for Ms. Hoerger. Chairman Deegan recognized Commissioner McCall who moved on behalf of the Renewable Energy Workgroup, that the Commission take the following actions:

1) To approve the regulations affecting the following Code of Maryland Regulations:

COMAR 27.01.01 General Provisions
COMAR 27.01.02 Development in the Critical Area
COMAR 27.01.09 Habitat Protection Areas in the Critical Area
COMAR 27.02.01 General Provisions
COMAR 27.02.04 State or Local Agency Actions Resulting in Major Development on Private Lands or Lands Owned by Local Jurisdictions
COMAR 27.02.05 State Agency Actions Resulting in Development on State-Owned Lands
COMAR 27.02.07 Commission Review, Decision Process, Time Frames
COMAR 27.02.08 Appeals

- (2) To approve regulations adding the new chapter COMAR 27.01.14 Solar Energy Generating Systems and adding the new regulation to existing COMAR 27.02.05, Regulation 15 Solar Energy Generating Systems; and
- (3) To authorize Commission staff to publish these regulations as proposed regulations in the Maryland Register.

November 12, 2020 Meeting Minutes *Page 4 of 4*

The motion was seconded by Commissioner Mahoney and was approved unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business to discuss.

LEGAL UPDATES:

Assistant Attorney General Emily Vainieri provided no legal updates.

NEW BUSINESS:

Ms. Charbonneau noted that there would not be a December meeting.

Upretto Dullerton

1/6/2021

Lynette Fullerton, Commission Secretary

Date of Approval