

# Boat Dealer License Applicant's Guide

#### WHO MUST BE LICENSED Natural

Resources Article, §8-710, Annotated Code of Maryland requires a Maryland boat dealer's license if you are engaged in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging vessels in Maryland. COMAR 08.04.01.01(B)(11) defines "dealer" as *any person who is in the business of buying, selling, or* 

exchanging new and/or used vessels, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment, lease, chattel mortgage, or otherwise, and has an established place of business for sale, trade, and display of vessels . Statute further clarifies "dealer" to include a yacht broker, and a business commonly known as a lien and

recovery company.

# APPLYING for A BOAT DEALER LICENSE

An application (DNR Form B-141) must be filed with the DNR Service Center serving the county in which the business will be located.

An application made in the name of a corporation must be signed by three officers. Evidence of a closed corporation is required when there are less than three officer

A manufacturer or importer must provide their U.S. Coast Guard Manufacturer's Identification Code (MIC) prior to license issuance.

# LICENSE FEES

Upon notification of approval of the application, a license fee of \$25 must be paid to the Department. Annual renewal requires the \$25 fee and confirmation that surety remains in force.

# SURETY BONDS

Once your boat dealer application has been approved, you must provide evidence of surety before your license will be issued. A \$20,000 surety bond is required for the first license year. Surety in subsequent years is determined by a review of sales for the twelve months prior to issuance of the license renewal application, based on the following schedule:

| Bond      | <u>Sales</u>        |
|-----------|---------------------|
| \$5,000   | \$500K or less      |
| \$10,000  | >\$500K but < \$1M  |
| \$20,000  | >\$1M but < \$3M    |
| \$50,000  | > \$3M but < \$5M   |
| \$100,000 | > \$5M but < \$10M  |
| \$150,000 | > \$10M but < \$15M |
| \$200,000 | \$15M and greater   |
|           |                     |

### LICENSE PERIOD

Boat dealer licenses are issued on a calendar year basis, and are valid from the date of issuance or renewal through December 31 of each year. Proof of current surety bond will be required for renewal.

### **DEALER OBLIGATIONS** Dealership

must maintain for 3 years a record of any vessel the dealer purchased, sold, exchanged, or received for sale or exchange; collection and remittance of tax & fees; and issuance of temporary registration decals.

# **EXCISE TAX & FEES**

Natural Resources Article, §8-716.1, Annotated Code of Maryland, requires that a licensed dealer collect vessel excise tax and fees, and forward them to the Department along with the appropriate paperwork within 30 days of the date of sale as defined in COMAR 08.04.01.01. Failure to do so will result in a 10% penalty and 1.5% interest per month.

# LAWS, REGULATIONS and PROCEDURES

A licensed dealer is required to understand and comply with all laws, regulations and procedures relating to the titling and registration of boats.

> Annotated Code of Maryland can be found at: <u>www.michie.com/maryland/</u> Maryland Code Natural Resources Article Title 8 Waters Subtitle 7 State Boat Act

COMAR can be found at: http://www.dsd.state.md.us/comar/

### LICENSING & REGISTRATION SERVICE CENTERS

Open Monday-Friday

by Appointment Only

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

# **ANNAPOLIS SERVICE CENTER**

Baltimore City, Anne Arundel, Howard, Montgomery & Prince George's counties 160 Harry S Truman Pkwy P.O. Box 1869 Annapolis, MD 21404 410-260-3220 MD toll free: 1-866-344-8889

# CENTRAL REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER

Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil & Harford counties 501 West MacPhail Rd. #2 Bel Air, MD 21014 410-836-4550 MD toll free: 1-866-623-3187

# EASTERN REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER

Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico & Worcester counties 251 Tilghman Rd Rm #2 Salisbury, MD 21804 410-713-3840 MD toll free: 1-866-812-1678

### EAST CENTRAL REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER

*Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne's &Talbot counties* 120 Broadway Ave, Ste. 5 Centreville, MD 21617 410-819-4100 MD toll free: 1-866-439-1708

### WESTERN REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER

Allegany, Frederick, Garrett & Washington counties 1601-A Bowmans Farm Rd. Frederick, MD 21701 240-236-9950 MD toll free: 1-866-679-0906

### SOUTHERN REGIONAL SERVICE CENTER

Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Prince George's & St. Mary's counties 14175 Solomons Island Rd. S P. O. Box 1309 Solomons, MD 20688 410-535-3382 MD toll free: 1-866-688-3823