

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES LICENSING & REGISTRATION SERVICE

CERTIFICATION OF STATE OF PRINCIPAL OPERATION

This form is required for vessels \underline{NOT} to be used principally in Maryland PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION

VESSEL DESCRIPTION:

Manufacturer		Model	Year	
Length	Hull ID Number			
Current State Registration or USCG Num	ber			
Total Purchase Price \$	Trade-in Value \$	Net Pure	chase Price \$	
VESSEL OWNER INFORMATION: NOTE: INFORMATION	MUST BE SPECIFIC TO THE LOC	ATION OF PRINCI	PAL OPERATION	
Purchaser(s)				
or Owner(s)				
Address (Street address also required if P.	O. Box)			
City	State		Zip Code	
Driver's License No.		State of Issue		
Daytime Telephone No. ()	Home/Work Telephone No. ()			
I certify under penalty of perjury that the and will be kept at (marina name and loca Purchaser/Owner(s) Printed name(s)	-			
Purchaser/Owner(s) Signature			Date Required	
Purchaser/Owner(s) Signature			Date Required	
DEALER CERTIFICATION: I hereby certify under penalty of perjury to excise tax law. To the best of my knowle				
Dealer Signature			Date Required	
Dealership Name (Please Print)			Maryland Dealer Number	

GENERAL INFORMATION

This Certification of State of Principal Operation is required when a vessel is <u>not</u> to be used principally in Maryland and is, therefore, exempt from Maryland excise tax. All information on the certification must be provided.

§ 8-716 (e) of Maryland's State Boat Act states that a person is not required to pay vessel excise tax resulting from:

- (13) The sale of a vessel within the State if:
 - i) The vessel is purchased from a licensed dealer;
 - ii) The issuance of a title is not sought or required;
 - iii) The vessel is not used or to be used principally on the waters of this State;
 - iv) The vessel is duly registered in another jurisdiction within 30 days of the date of purchase; and
 - v) The dealer and the purchaser execute an agreement certifying the state of principal use for the vessel which is filed with the Department within 30 days of the date of purchase.
- § 8-701 of Maryland's State Boat Act includes the following definitions:
 - (p) State of principal use—"State of principal use" means the jurisdiction on whose waters a vessel is used or to be used most during a calendar year which is the period from January 1 through December 31.
 - (r) *Use* "Use" means to operate, navigate, or employ a vessel. A vessel is in use whenever it is upon the water, whether it is moving, anchored, or tied up to any manner of dock or buoy. A vessel is also in use if it is kept in any structure in readiness for use.

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES LICENSING AND REGISTRATION SERVICE CENTERS

All Offices 1-866-344-8889

Annapolis Service Center

160 Harry S. Truman P.O. Box 1869 Annapolis, MD 21404-1869 410-260-3220

Located inside MVA

Centreville Service Center

120 Broadway Avenue, Suite 5/6 Centreville, MD 21617 410-819-4100

Solomons Service Center

14175 Solomons Island Rd. S PO Box 1309 Solomons, MD 20688 410-535-3382 **Essex Service Center**

1338 Eastern Blvd. A Essex, MD 21221 667-401-0760

No Mail. Open: Mon/Wed/Fri Located inside MVA

Frederick Service Center

1601-A Bowmans Farm Rd Frederick, MD 21701 240-236-9950

Located inside MVA

Eastern Service Center 251 Tilghman Rd Rm #2

Salisbury, MD 21804 410-713-3840

Located inside MVA

Bel Air Service Center

501 W MacPhail Rd. #2 Bel Air, MD 21014 410-836-4550

Located inside MVA

Cumberland Service Center

13300 Winchester Rd SW Cumberland, MD 21502

301-777-2134

No Mail. Open: Tues/Thurs Located inside MVA

Credit card only at this location