¥ MARYLAND
1=~/ DEPARTMENT OF

7——== NATURAL RESOURCES

The Maryland Department of Natural Resources wants you to enjoy safe boating!

2023 BOATING TIPS

POLICE

Chart a course that keeps you safe and our waterways healthy.

SAFETY FIRST!

TAKE A BOATING SAFETY COURSE

Boaters born on or after July 1, 1972 must carry a NASBLA-approved
certificate of boating safety education when operating a motorized
boat on Maryland waters. There are a variety of ways to obtain a
certificate. Just because you were born before the required date listed
above does not make you exempt from having an accident.

Get Educated! Visit our website at dnr.maryland.qgov/boating for
the dates and times of classes being offered. Online classes are now
available. Check the schedule on our website.

Bow riding, or sitting on the edge of

a moving boat, is illegal. A fall can

put you in the path of the propeller,
causing serious injury or death.

LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS

Life jackets must be the proper size for the intended wearer,

in good, serviceable condition, and readily accessible. All
recreational boats must carry one wearable life jacket (type |, Il,
Il or V) for each person aboard.

Any motorized boat 16 feet or longer must also carry one
throwable type IV life jacket.

Children under age 13 must wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved
life jacket while underway on a recreational vessel under 21 feet
in length on Maryland waters. It must be the proper size and in
good, serviceable condition.

Children under age 4 must wear a life jacket that features
additional safety precautions as appropriate for an infant, toddler
or young child, which would include an inflatable headrest, web
handle, and crotch strap.

For laws and regulations, please visit dnr.maryland.gov.

DON’'T DRINK AND BOAT!

A boat operator whose blood or breath analysis shows an alcohol
concentration of 0.08 or greater is considered to be under the
influence of alcohol and subject to criminal prosecution. Alcohol
has a more dramatic effect on the body while boating.

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT

Operators of personal watercraft in Maryland must be at least

16 years old and possess a valid certificate of boating safety
education. A personal watercraft must be operated at 6 knots or
less when within 100 feet of a vessel, another personal watercraft,
shore, wharf, pier, piling, bridge structure, abutment, or people in
the water (at least 300 feet from people in the Atlantic Ocean).
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TOOLS FOR BOATERS

BOATING ACCESS GUIDE

Locate more than 425 public boating access sites in Maryland
and get details on amenities, such as size of facility, parking,
accessibility, and hours of operation, using dnr.maryland.gov
keyword search boat ramps.

DOWNLOAD THE APP!
The Maryland Department of Natural Resources
official mobile app provides outdoor enthusiasts
with the tools needed to enjoy everything the
great outdoors have to offer.
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IN CASE OF EMERGENCY

CONTACT THE NATURAL RESOURCES POLICE/COAST GUARD
Report emergency, violation, or abandoned boat: 410-260-8888
Report missing, damaged, or misplaced buoy: 410-643-6521

Report boating fatality to U.S. Coast Guard: 410-576-2525

CHESAPEAKE BAY SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENTAL HOTLINE
Call 877-224-7229 to report boating accidents or reckless
activity, a fish kill or algal bloom, floating debris that poses a
hazard to navigation, illegal fishing activity, a public sewer leak
or overflow, an oil or hazardous materials spill, or a critical area
or wetlands violation. To report an oil spill, chemical release,
or maritime security incident to the U.S. Coast Guard National
Response Center, please call 800-424-8802.

USE VHF FM MARINE CHANNEL 16

The primary marine distress frequency is monitored
continuously by the U.S. Coast Guard. Channel 16 must be kept
clear—someone’s life may depend on it! Use Channel 9 for non-
emergency hailing.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

Check the weather often. Weather can change in an instant.
Have a float plan: tell someone where you are going, who will
be with you and when you plan to return.

PROTECT OUR WATERS

STOP AQUATIC HITCHHIKERS
Invasive species aggressively
establish themselves at the
expense of native ecosystems and
pose a threat to biodiversity. In

B Maryland, aquatic invasives include
northern snakehead, blue and
flathead catfish, zebra mussels, and
underwater plants such as hydrilla.

A single drop of water, a bit of mud, or a tiny plant fragment is all it
takes to spread harmful plants and animals. To minimize that risk:
e thoroughly inspect and clean vehicles, vessels, trailers, and

all associated gear after use.

® remove all plant material and deposit in dedicated waste
stations or trash receptacles.

e dispose of worms, unwanted bait fish, and fish parts in trash
receptacles only.

e drain all water before leaving the launch; leave boat plugs
out while traveling.

e if possible, allow your boat to dry for five days before
launching in another water body.

Learn more at dnr.maryland.gov/invasives.

Check out our brochure for more information about how to
clean, drain, and dry your boat.

CLEAN MARINAS AND CLEAN BOATERS

Boaters can help protect our waterways by (1) never littering,

(2) preventing fuel spills, and (3) avoiding harsh chemicals and
cleaners. There are also nearly 150 clean marinas to choose from
across the state. Find locations and sign the Clean Boater Pledge

at dnr.maryland.gov/boating.

MARINE SEWAGE PUMPOUT FACILITIES

Keep our waters clean—use pumpouts! There are more than 350
pumpout stations in Maryland. Most are grant funded and open to
the public. Dumping raw sewage is illegal and harms our natural
resources. Locations of grant-funded pumpouts and regulations
governing boat discharge are available at dnr.maryland.gov/
boating. Broken pumpouts can be reported to 410-260-8772.

WHAT DO | DO WHEN | SELL MY BOAT?

Vessel owners must notify the department within 15 days if a
vessel is sold or destroyed. Notification should include date and
circumstances (purchaser name and address, amount of sale)
and be forwarded to a Licensing & Registration Service Center
either in person, by fax, or by mail. More information:
dnr.maryland.gov/service-centers.aspx.

PROPER DISPOSAL OF UNWANTED BOATS

If you have a title to an unwanted boat, consider donating it

to a charity or maritime museum. Or find a marine salvage
company to break down the vessel, recycle parts, and dispose
of them. Never abandon a boat at a marina or in our waterways.
More information: dnr.maryland.gov/boating/Pages/
registration.aspx.

TAKE ME FISHING

A Chesapeake Bay and Coastal Sport License is required
to fish in the Chesapeake Bay, Coastal Bays, their respective
tributaries, and the Atlantic Ocean.

You can buy your $50 Chesapeake Bay and Coastal Sport Boat
Decal at any time from a sport license agent or Department
of Natural Resources service center. The decal allows all boat
passengers to fish without an individual sport license, but all
anglers must register with the state. The primary boat owner
receives a free crab license and an individual Chesapeake Bay
and Coastal Sport license, which allows for fishing from shore
or another person’s boat.

Waterfront property owners or family members, those fishing
in a designated license-free fishing area, and passengers on a
vessel displaying a Chesapeake Bay and Coastal Sport Boat
Decal are exempt from individual licensing, but must register
as a saltwater angler at compass.dnr.maryland.gov.

For more information on tidal and nontidal fishing, tagged fish,
and educational programs, visit dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries.

FIND A FISHING SPOT

Visit dnr.maryland.gov/Fisheries/Pages/recreational.aspx to
find a fishing spot and site-specific details like species, special
regulations, tidal/nontidal dividing lines, and boating and
parking information.

SHARE YOUR CATCH

Tell all your best fish tales using the Maryland Angler’s Log.
Reports can include your name, hometown, photos, location
information, and any details of your experience you'd like to share.
Get started at dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries.

WATCH YOUR SPEED

A new, interactive map shows locations of the hundreds of
regulated speed zones in Maryland waters. Find it at
dnr.maryland.gov/boating or through the mobile app.
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