FISHERIES SERVICE: Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact

The Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact is an agreement that recognizes suspension of hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses in member states. This means that illegal activities in one state can affect a person's hunting or fishing privileges in all participating states. Any person whose license privileges or rights are suspended in a member state may also be suspended in Maryland. If a person's hunting, fishing, or trapping rights are suspended in Maryland, they may be suspended in other member states as well. This cooperative interstate effort will enhance the Department of Natural Resources' ability to protect and manage our wildlife resources.

If a person plans to hunt, fish, or trap in another state, and they have a license suspension in Maryland, it is their responsibility to contact the other state to see if they can legally hunt, fish, or trap there.

History of the Compact

The concept of a wildlife violator compact was first advanced in the early 1980s by member states in the Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies. Law enforcement administrators and Wildlife Commissioners from several states began discussing the idea of a compact based on the format of the existing Drivers License Compact and Non-Resident Violator Compact, both of these related to motor vehicle operator licensing and enforcement.

In 1985 draft compacts were developed independently in Colorado and Nevada. Subsequently, these drafts were merged and the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact was created.

During the 1989 Legislative session compact legislation was passed into law in Colorado, Nevada and Oregon. These three states formed the nucleus of the Compact.

Participating States (Subject to Change)

Alabama Indiana Missouri Pennsylvania
Alaska Iowa Montana South Dakota
Arizona Kansas Nevada Tennessee
California Kentucky New Mexico Texas
Colorado Louisiana New York Utah
Florida Maryland North Dakota Washington
Georgia Michigan Ohio West Viginia
Idaho Minnesota Oklahoma Wisconsin
Illinois Mississippi Oregon Wyoming