Upcoming Meetings

Joint Meetings of the Coast Smart Council and the Adaptation & Response Working Group are scheduled for:

1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

  • Monday, March 12, 1-4 p.m.
  • Monday, May 7, 1-4 p.m.
  • Monday, July 30, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Monday, December 3, 1-4 p.m.

Place: DNR Tawes Building, Conference Room C-1
580 Taylor Avenue, Annapolis, MD 21401

Coast Smart Council Meeting - 1-2 p.m.
Adaptation & Response Working Group - 2-4 p.m.


Joe Abe
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Chesapeake and Coastal Service
580 Taylor Ave., E-2
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410.260.8740
Email: joseph.abe@maryland.gov

Maryland CoastSmart Council Members

Chair: Mark J. Belton, Secretary
Maryland Department of Natural Resources


  • Pat Goucher, Infrastructure Planning, Maryland Department of Planning
  • Sepehr Baharlou, P.E., Principal BayLand Consultants & Designers, Inc.
  • Dr. Donald Boesch, President University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science
  • Fiona Burns, Budget Analyst Office of Capital Budgeting, Maryland Department of Budget and Management
  • Gary Setzer, Advisor for Office of the Secretary Maryland Department of the Environment
  • The Honorable Dennis Dare, City Councilman Town of Ocean City
  • Chris Elcock, Senior Associate GWWO Inc., Architects
  • Dr. Gerry E. Galloway, Jr., Professor University of Maryland, College Park
  • Meg Andrews, Environmental Planning Manager Office of Planning & Capital Programming, Maryland Dept. of Transportation
  • Richard Higgins, Constituent Services Manager (DPGA) Maryland Department of Commerce
  • Mostafa Izadi, P.E., Capital Projects Manager Maryland Department of General Services
  • Mark James, State Hazard Mitigation Officer Preparedness Directorate, Maryland Emergency Management Agency
  • Thomas J. Lawton, County Planner Somerset County
  • Kate Charbonneau, Regional Program Chief Maryland Critical Area Commission