STATE OF MARYLAND — DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

APPLICATION FOR: (CHECK ONE) MD
MARYLAND REGISTERED VESSEL [JTITLE & REGISTRATION CJTITLE ONLY [JREGISTRATION ONLY
DOCUMENTED VESSEL [JTAX PAYMENT & DECAL ~ [JDECAL ONLY [CJTAX PAYMENT ONLY USCG
SECTION 1 — OWNERSHIP PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT

Attach sheet for additional owners

FIRST NAME / MIDDLE NAME / LAST NAME

FIRST NAME/ MIDDLE NAME / LAST NAME

VESSEL NAME (Documented Vessels Only)

Government

FULL LEGAL NAME
MAILING ADDRESS
CITY, STATE, ZIP
COUNTY
— (o]
DAYTIME TELEPHONE E E
= 4
DATE OF BIRTH | = =
(o) o
GENDER CIMALE [CJFEMALE [IMALE [JFEMALE
SOCIAL SECURITY #OR FIN
DRIVERS LICENSE #
ISSUING STATE
SECTION 2 — VESSEL INFORMATION
[0 NEW [ USED VESSEL USE VESSEL TYPE HULL MATERIAL PROPULSION FUEL
HULL IDENTIFICATION # Pleasure Open Fiberglass Outboard Gasoline
Commercial Fishing Cabin Aluminum Inboard Diesel
MANUFACTURER
Commercial Other House Flexible Fabric Inboard/Outdrive Electric
MODEL Commercial Passenger Inflatable Other Other Other
Demonstration Other Steel Sail Inboard Auxiliary
YEAR LENGTH
FT. IN. Diplomat PWC Wood Sail Outboard Auxiliary
Emergency / Rescue DATE OF PURCHASE USED VESSELS

Current Registration #

Rent or Lease

DATE TAXABLE IN MD If not registered, explain:

ENGINE | MANUFACTURER(S) MODEL

TOTAL HORSEPOWER SERIAL NO. YEAR

IF TRAILERED [] | LOCATION OF BOAT: RIVER/CREEK

COUNTY

SECTION 3 — SECURITY INTEREST INFORMATION

NAME AND ADDRESS OF SECURED PARTY/LIEN HOLDER

5% Excise Tax on Net Purchase Price
— Minimum $5.00

Reciprocal Credit for Tax Paid to Another State ~ STATE:

Net Excise Tax Due

Title Fee (MD registered vessels only) $2.00

Registration Fee - 2 Year
over 16 ft. or over 7.5 hp $24.00

16 ft. or under with 7.5 hp or under NO FEE
2-year Documented Use Decal

(documented vessels only) $10.00
Security Interest Filing Fee

— remit only if lien is to be recorded $15.00

Penalty and interest are due when excise tax has not been paid
within 30 days of Maryland tax liability. (See reverse)

Penalty — 10% of excise tax

Interest — 1.5% per month

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO “DNR” TOTAL DUE

DNR B-240 (07/14)
www.dnr.maryland.gov

DATE OF LIEN AMOUNT OF LIEN SECTION 5 — DEALERS ONLY DEALER SIGNATURE REQUIRED BELOW IF REQUESTING EXTENSION

SECTION 4 — TAXES & FEES DEALER LICENSE # [] REQUEST FOR DEALER EXTENSION
TEMPORARY DECAL # [0 Held for resale

$ TOTAL PURCHASE PRICE OR FAIR MARKET VALUE [0 Brokerage Sale
TRADE-IN HULL ID #

(s ) TRADE-IN VALUE (DEALER SALES ONLY)
REASON FOR EXTENSION

$ NET PURCHASE PRICE

SECTION 6 —CERTIFICATION

| certify under penalty of perjury that | own the vessel described above and that the statements made on this
application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
REQUEST FOR EXTENSION ONLY — | EXPECT TO FORWARD THE COMPLETED APPLICATION WITHIN 15 DAYS.

ALL OWNERS MUST SIGN AND DATE BELOW

DEPARTMENT USE




DEFINITIONS
Bill of Sale — a certified document executed by the seller that shows seller's name and address, purchaser’'s name and address, date of sale, complete
vessel description, and the gross purchase price of the vessel
Certificate of Origin — The manufacturer’s or importer’'s document of “title” which establishes ownership of a vessel and provides for the transfer of that
ownership progressively from the manufacturer or importer to the dealer and purchaser
Excise tax -- §8-710.3(a) imposes a 5% vessel excise tax on all vessels used principally in Maryland
Fair market value
% §8-716(a)(3)(i) -- When purchased from a licensed dealer — the total purchase price as certified by the dealer on a form acceptable to the
Department
% §8-716(a)(3)(iii) -- All other transactions — either (a) the total purchase price verified by a certified Bill of Sale approved by the Department, or (b)
the valuation shown in a national publication of used vessel values adopted by the Department
Hull identification number — 12 character alpha-numeric number required by the U.S. Coast Guard to be permanently affixed, engraved or embossed on
the vessel by the manufacturer (the Department will assign a HIN to home built boats)
Interest -- §8-716.1(d)(1) — 1.5% per month or fraction of a month from the time the tax was due until paid
Length — overall length of the deck (feet and inches) from bow to stern measured in a straight line
Manufacturer — name of the builder — if home built, write in “custom”
Penalty -- §8-716.1(d)(1) — 10% of vessel excise tax — assessed when tax is not paid within 30 days of incurring liability
Purchase price -- §8-716(a)(6) — the total price of a vessel at the time of sale, including motor, accessories, freight-in, duty (if any), and excluding the
price of a trailer. Preparation charges are not taxable.
Reciprocal credit -- §8-716(f)(1) — credit for tax previously paid in another state — vessel must have been titled or registered in another jurisdiction or
federally documented and principally used in another jurisdiction -- requires proof of tax payment to the other jurisdiction.
Registration number
< Documented vessels — 6 or 7-character identifier assigned by the U.S. Coast Guard
< All other vessels — 8-character identifier assigned by the state of registration in the format XX 1234 XX, with the 1*' two letters identifying the state
of registration
State of principal use — The jurisdiction on whose waters a vessel is used or to be used most during a calendar year
Tax liability
«  If your vessel was purchased in Maryland and will use Maryland waters a majority of the calendar year, you ARE liable for vessel excise tax and
must register the vessel within 30 days of purchase to avoid assessment of penalty and interest.
« If your vessel was purchased elsewhere or previously registered in another jurisdiction, is now in Maryland waters, and will use Maryland waters a
majority of the calendar year, you ARE liable for vessel excise tax and must register the vessel within 30 days of entering Maryland waters.
« If your vessel is duly registered in another jurisdiction but remains in Maryland waters more than 90 days in a calendar year, you MAY be liable for
vessel excise tax unless you can prove principal use (as defined above) in another jurisdiction.
Trade-in — applicable only to sales by licensed dealers — a completed ‘Trade-In Verification Statement’ must be submitted with application
Vessel type — style that most accurately describes the vessel
Year — model year — if custom, use the year vessel was built

33 CFR §187.101(a) and (b) require that the Department collect the taxpayer identification number for each vessel owner.

INSTRUCTIONS

The following documents must accompany applications for title and/or
registration for vessels to be REGISTERED in Maryland:

The following documents must accompany applications for a use decal
and/or tax payment for DOCUMENTED vessels:
« USCG stamped Bill of Sale

New vessel -- original Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin assigned to - hotocopy of current Certificate of Documentation
purchaser(s) and original Bill of Sale (if Certificate of Origin does not . P Py

contain the purchase price) “  proof of prior tax paid (if seeking reciprocity credit)

Used vessel
«  Original Bill of Sale and/or original title (see definition above) REQUEST FOR EXTENSION:
o  Seller must provide explanation if vessel was not < Automatic 15-day extension granted, with additional
previously numbered or documented extensions at the Department’s discretion
% Lien release (if applicable) % Request for Extension must be submitted and taxes and
< If previously federally documented: fees paid within 30 days of purchase
o  Photocopy of seller’'s most current Certificate of “  Attach copy of Bill of Sale

Documentation

o  USCG Abstract of title
o  Release of ship’s mortgage (if applicable)

*,

« If previously registered in a nontitle state:

o  Photocopy of most current out-of-state registration

certificate

YOU MAY TAKE OR MAIL YOUR APPLICATION TO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING SERVICE CENTERS
WHEN CALLING OUR OFFICES, PLEASE HAVE YOUR VESSEL NUMBER AVAILABLE.
BUSINESS HOURS ARE 8:30 TO 4:30 MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY (EXCEPT STATE HOLIDAYS)
PLEASE MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DNR

Annapolis Service Center
1804 West St #300

P.O. Box 1869

Annapolis, MD 21404
410-260-3220

1-866-344-8889 (Toll Free in MD)
410-260-3281 (Fax)

Western Service Center

12500 Pleasant Valley Rd
Flintstone, MD 21530
301-777-2134

1-866-679-0906 (Toll Free in MD)
301-777-5865 (Fax)

DNR B-240 (07/14)
www.dnr.maryland.gov

Dundalk Service Center

7701 Wise Ave

Baltimore, MD 21222
410-284-1654

1-886-535-8319 (Toll Free in MD)
410-284-3505 (Fax)

(WALK-In Only: M/W/F)

Southern Service Center

6904 Hallowing Lane

Prince Frederick, MD 20678
410-535-3382

1-866-688-3823 (Toll Free in MD)
410-535-4737 (Fax)

Central Service Center

2 S. Bond St., Suite 101

Bel Air, MD 21014

410-836-4550

1-866-623-3187 (Toll Free in MD)
410-836-4562 (Fax)

Eastern Service Center

201 Baptist St #22

Salisbury, MD 21801
410-713-3840

1-866-812-1678 (Toll Free in MD)
410-713-3849 (Fax)

East Central Service Center
120 Broadway Ave #5
Centreville, MD 21617
410-819-4100

1-866-439-1708 (Toll Free in MD)
410-819-4110 (Fax)
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